Come discover our culture, play local cricket and enjoy tasty food in Dickwella, Sri Lanka

Country

Sri Lanka

Favourited 155 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are three friends, in the late 30's early 40's, from france setting up a hotel in South Sri Lanka.

    we all have different backgrounds and jobs based in Paris.
    - Jeremie does signs and decorations for events or bars, or stores.
    - Manu used to run a bar/club for 2 years and still work as an IT consultant.
    - As for me Emilie, i work in photography as a digital retoucher and graphic designer.

    As the opportunity popped up, we all three jumped on board for this new adventure. We arrived together at the very beginning of september and we are planning an opening on December 1st. Of course, there were much more work to be done at arrival then we expected but we sticked to the initial project, reconsidering our goals a bit.

    So this is kind of a last minute offer, for adventurous people. We like to do a lot of things ourselves, and we would be happy to get some help!

    If you are enthousiastic, easy going and open minded person, come and join us! you ll get to live at the sri lankan pace! ;-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In exchange of few hours of work (3 or 4) per day, we host you. You'll be living with us in this hotel on a garden by the sea, living the sri lankan llifestyle uner coconut trees.

    You'll be free to manage your time as you want, as long as you're being helpful ;-).

    Discovering the sri lankan culture, speak french if you are willing to learn, play local cricket, karum, taste rice and curry (you have to like spicy food!), fresh fruits juices.

    we can teach each other new skills in decoration, art, garden, computer knowledge, ecology...

  • Help

    Help

    As we are still at the very beginning at the project, all lot of work is still needed, going form painting, decorating, building objects, growing new plants, making macramés, artwork on walls, gardening, taking pictures and animating our social network pages, making keffir and kombucha.

    Depends on your skills, your talents, your will and our needs of course! We are open to any suggestions.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll be living with us, in one of the hotel rooms, with private bathroom (shower). As we are not opened yet, it might be a bit simple. Probably no ACs, but a fan. Either you'll get a room on your own, or if there are more volonteers you might have to share it but it is unlikely to happen.

    We have a big kitchen, with two gas cooktop. two fridges, and lot's of space to make great meal.

    The hotel is right on the beach and the view is spectacular. we usual eat outdoor in our open bar space or courtyard.

    As we are still setting up the place, we are not yet fully equiped (no oven, no ACs)...

    We will provide breakfast (simple: coffe or tea, toasts, butter, jam, fruits and sometimes eggs) and one meal per day in a chill way sometimes we cook, sometimes we go to one of the many local places around, and once in a while we'll go to a more foreign food restaurant.

    We don't really have fixed schedule for meals as we try to be as flexible as we can to fit the day to day requirements... some day we have to go to the next city to buy wood, furniture, electrical supply... and as everything takes a lot of time here... sometimes the meals are delayed! but don't worry you won't be starving. Make sure you like fruits and asian currys cause we get lots of those.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This place has a wonderful beach. We are surrounded by many different surf spots, for all levels.
    It is an authentic village by the sea, lots of animals around: monkeys, peacoks, dogs, cats, varans, squarrels, bats, many birds, glowworms... It has a market every saturdays.
    There is a temple where stands the biggest seatted buddha of the country.

    We are also very close to hiriketiya bay (10 minutes walk) where many places offer yoga classes and there is a huge surf class offer.
    Cute restaurants and bars on the beach, live band concert once in a while.

    WE are also not to far from two of the most famous natural parcs in Sri Lanka: Udawalawe & Yala.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 287797273571