Come and assist at our farm and enjoy cultural exchange in Kırıkkale, Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Fatih
    A +50 retired sports coach from Turkey.
    Lived and worked for 28 years in Southeast Asia , mostly in Taiwan, Laos and Brunei.
    Now back in my homeland, rejuvenating my family farm, located 100km east ofthe capital Ankara, near the small city of Kırıkkale.

    All our homestead activities are from March to November. Step climate is dry and comfortable. Even warm summer days days have cool mornings and nights.

    We provide free food and beverages , mostly from our farm and traditional treats of Turkey as well as Asian cuisine.
    Accommodation is a cosy single/double room with shared bath and wc in our farmhouse.

    We are multilingual so communication is not an issue.

    We are a non commercial farm, therefore
    we are unable to provide income to workawayers. However, in case of specific projects such as "web development" , "building projects" , "artwork" and "knowhow transfer" we would compensate your efforts.

    We will pick you from the closest airport (Ankara/Esenboğa A.P) or any other train/bus station you prefer.

    We accepts 1 couple or 2 individuals at a time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers can experience Local Farming practices , food , music and life style.
    They will learn to make Turkish food and beverages.
    First hand experience how to prepare/dry summer produce for winter (cheese making, drying fruits, making Tomato paste and molasses)
    We will also do some batik (cloth dyeing) together.

    You can experience how environment and climate shapes the way of thinking for locals.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with feeding the chickens/sheep, watering plants , weeding and some farm projects such as building small wooden structures , drying fruits, painting etc.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room with shared bath/wc in our farm house

    We provide 3 meals a day. We eat together at community table in the garden.
    I will be cooking local food with ingredients from our own garden.
    I will prepare Chinese and European meals occasionally.
    We will make our own local beverage such as
    Ayran (yogurt drink), Apple syrup, Plum compost , Lemonade, Tomato juice...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Work is short 2-4 hours for 4-5 days...
    Rest of the time you can enjoy the quite surroundings in our homestead (you will discover many unique corners in our 6000m2 garden to relax)
    Or you might wander around to see local history, vineyards, small towns.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-4 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Host ref number: 285743761827