Learn how to make beer and experience an Australian lifestyle in Melbourne, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I recently retired from the restaurant, bakery, cafe, hotel and bar business, having many of these businesses over the past 50 years in both Melbourne metropolitan and Victoria country areas. And in this capacity employed many young people , teaching them the hotel and cafe trade.
    I have 4 adult married children who interact with me regularly and I travel approximately 3 times a year to the outback area of NSW to stay on sheep stations and legally hunt feral animals that endanger our unique wildlife species.
    Many young people have accompanied me on these trips over the years, however this is at their own choice and they can decide to stay and mind the house .
    I make my own beer, my own bullets for the shooting trips and tan the skins of feral animals into high quality leather. The work is easy and not a great deal as I have workaways , helpers etc in my home for the company in my various activities, there is however substantial freedom to do and explore whatever they wish to do.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience in an Australian family lifestyle. If desired learning to make beer, to selfload bullets, to shoot on a rifle range and to learn how to turn the skins of feral animals into high quality leather. All the latter are on the choice of the workaway.

  • Help

    Help

    The duties encompass a fairly limited amount of the following, easy to perform gardening, housekeeping, some cooking, occasional shopping and accompanying on some trips if desired.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Indonesian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I Live in a 3 bedroom house and workaways will have a choice of 2 excellent spacious bedrooms. The beds are comfotable and the rooms well lit and with plenty of cupboard storage space. I have just retired from 45 years in cafes, restaurants and hotels and the food is varied, thus there is a wide variety of food, traditional Asian, European and Australian.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Werribee is a multicultural, multiracial, high income, low crime suburb 30 minutes by train from Melbourne. With train station and bus stops near the residence. There are many gyms, cafes shopping centers, pools etc in the area

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have unlimited access to the internet and you are more than welcome to do any work online you have in your spare time.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have no problem with people bringing a pet with them.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 284237247764