Help an artist at her home in Hella, Iceland



Favourited 264 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Join now to contact this host
  • Description


    I´m 68 years old and live with my husband on a farm in the south. We have horses, cows, sheep and a dog. My husband does all the work in the farm and my work is designing and making products such as jewelry and ponchos from Icelandic wool, lava and glass.

    We live in a beautiful rural area in the South of Iceland where there's a lot of fields, rivers, mountains and also glaciers in the distance. We have nice views from the house, especially when the weather is nice :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you know how to ride horses you can get one of mine to ride. If not, you are of course allowed to pet them.

    I sometimes go to Reykjavik and you are more than welcome to join me and see the city.

  • Help


    I need assistance with cooking for us and cleaning inside the house. Outside help occasionally like light maintenance such as painting fences and windows. Some help with the garden would be great too. You can help me do the grocery shopping, take care of the farm dog, see how I make my jewelry and so on.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Danish, Icelandic

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own room inside the main house. Easy access to kitchen and bathroom. Wifi.
    All food during the stay is included for the workawayer. It will be either cooked by the host or provided to the workawayer when the task is to cook it for everyone living at the farm (me, my husband and the workawayer(s).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to Hella and from there you can go and see : Vík, Black Beach, Seljalandsfoss, Skogafoss, Seljandslaug (outdoor nature pool), Jökulsárlón (glacier lagoon), also the Golden Circle with Geysir and Golden Waterfalls. Mountain Hekla and Eyjafjallajökull are both visible from my farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our house
What the area around the farm looks like
Elias and me
A workawayer and me on a riding tour
Seljalandsfoss, 1h from my home

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 283981621199