Come and help with gardening, construction projects and walking the dogs in area Skaraborg, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 289 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Possibility if you are vaccinated or have antibodies for Corona.
    Come and help with gardening, construction projects and walking the dogs in area Skaraborg, Sweden
    Winter is coming and it´s time for different projects inside. It´s getting colder and slowly darker until midwinter. The atumncranes have now left the lake of Hornborga and gone south.
    This year the outdoor tasks we needed help with was weeding, planting, finishing building on the greenhouse, building in the garden, putting up a fence or making paths if the weather allows it. We are also want to build a warm bed for plants. But now its time for work we can do inside. Fetching wood and making the fire in the evening.
    Do you like to take long walks with the dogs in all kind of weather? Maybe paint and build?
    There is nearly always something to construct or paint.

    Do you have previous experience with dogs? Some strength is needed and you need to know or learn how to act around huskys. It is good if your stay can be three weeks or more because of the dogs.

    The small garden farm is situated in a nature reserve for birds in Hornborga by the Hornborga lake in the middle of Sweden. Every spring 10.000 cranes or more land at the lake before they take off to their nesting places. Hornborga is also full of historical sightings like Ekornavallen and Varnhem where some of the old Swedish kings are buried and there are excavations from both viking- and middle ages.
    Close enough to go by bike or foot.

    I am a painter and an aikido teacher and live with my dogs. We go on trips with the bikes or the car when the weather allows it.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about ecological gardening, how we grow vegetables in spring and autumn, painting, bikejoring, aikido, Swedish history, wild birds

  • Help

    Help

    This year we need help with finishing building a greenhouse from mainly recycling material and an ecological bed to culture vegetables when the weather is cold. We are also making a fence and putting down paths. But we only do outside tasks when the weather allows it. Sometimes there will be household chores inside. The dogs likes walks so this is a possibility. It´s very good If you are able to take part in the training and care for the dogs.
    You will need good shoes, jacket and warm clothes.

    It is essential that we have a common language.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have possibility to use the kitchen and make your own food but we will also make food together. Many of the ingredients are local. I have two beds in alcoves in the studio upstairs for workaways. The house is small with two toilets and a big bathroom. Heating by wood and air/water pump. We have a temperature of about +19 degrees C indoors at winter and in the evening we make a fire.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are very few daily buses, but you can borrow a bike or travel with me if you need to go to town. We have wifi.
    If you like to explore the area we have a lot of historical sites ranging from stone age to middle ages. The area is of geological and nature interest. Not far from the bird lake, the woods or the mountain of Billingen. (within 10 km)
    We do not provide alcohol and do not agree to druguse.
    Because Corona gives us some restrictions in Sweden you need to check what is necesery for you to know. Good if you are vaccinated. Please see the calendar.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)





















Host ref number: 283414823931