42 acre homestead that hosts events for young adults

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a 42 acre private family homestead in rural Southeast Wisconsin USA. Everything we produce is for consumption of our family and guests. We have a large pond, woods, a 130-year-old barn, fields, gardens, and over 2 miles in hiking trails. We have chickens, cats, sometimes pigs and turkeys, and lots of wild animals. Our homestead is a beautiful and unique place with its own community of people who call it their home away from home. For over 20 years we have made our farm available free of charge to non-profits, church groups, and individuals for a wide range of events. These have included day camps for special needs children, youth groups, weddings, dances, church services, and environmental research programs. Our farm is not a business and we do not sell any products.

    For the past 10 years we have focused on hosting events and programs for young adults aged 18 to 35. It is common for us to have 10-20 young adults at our farm on a Saturday in the summer. We have also hosted young adults from around the world who are participating in an educational program of a non-profit that we are involved in.

    My wife and I truly enjoy meeting and hosting young people from around the US and the world. We love sharing our farm and home with others and the exchange of ideas and culture. We are a Christian family however we are open and respectful to those with other beliefs. We do pray before meals and we make time for those who want to have private time for prayer and meditation.

    We look forward to you joining us. Please contact us with any questions.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our location is unique in that we open it up to a wide range of groups and activities and we expect to have several young adults staying with us at any time. This results in a diverse set of experiences and activities for travelers. In addition, they will get to meet, work, and live with people from a wide range of backgrounds in the US as well as from other countries.

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers will be helping with improvements and the expansion of activities at our homestead. Starting in the spring of 2022 we plan to significantly expand our organic gardening program to provide more food for the people staying at our farm or attending events we host. In addition, we will be making a wide range of improvements on the farm such as implementing solar energy, setting up hydroponics, expanding the hiking trails, repairing fishing piers, and restoring a music studio in our barn. Volunteers will help with gardening and other projects depending on when they are here. In addition, volunteers may help with the set up or running of events we are hosting. We are also looking for help with photography and videos of the farm and events. Volunteers will be expected to help 5 hours per day 4 days per week. This does not include time helping with meals or some cleaning of shared spaces.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will stay in our large modern home with my wife and I (we just celebrated 40 years of marriage) and our 33-year-old son who has some disabilities. We have several guest bedrooms with bunkbeds. Depending on how many volunteers, interns, and other guests may be staying at our farm at any time, you may have a room to yourself or up to 3 other roommates. All food will be provided (3 meals per day, 7 days per week, and lots of snacks!) Most dinners are prepared by the volunteers and guests along with some breakfasts and lunches. While we are omnivores, I am trying to move to more vegan meals, and we support and can accommodate most diets. Just let us know what you need.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will not be bored during your time off. If you are looking for a true country experience this is the place but with modern amenities. We have over 2 miles of hiking/jogging trails on our farm, a small work-out room, a pond stocked with fish, plenty of space for flying kites and drones, a large movie screen in the house for late night movies, and across the road from us is a large public nature preserve with a lake and river to explore. We have bikes you can use and inflatable kayaks. There is a major bike trail near the farm and not far away is a large state park along with a few options for swimming. There is an outdoor movie theater a short drive away, as well as farmer’s markets, festivals, and fairs all summer long. However, we are in the country and there is no public transportation here. The nearest major shopping areas are about 15 miles away. It is best if you have your own car. But many have stayed with us without a vehicle and there is usually someone happy to give others a ride. At times people do go into Milwaukee, Madison, and even Chicago.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We would love to have some digital nomads join us. I am a IT consultant and work full-time from home and generally do not have any issues with working online including video conferencing. We have WIFI repeaters in the house and you can get a signal from everywhere. However, we have DSL internet which means uploads are slow. If you are uploading large video files it can take a long time. We are on the waiting list for Elon Musk's Starlink which will solve this problem. We have decent cell coverage here for Verizon and AT&T (not sure about the others). If you have a hot spot on your phone that will be a much faster upload option for you. There is usually a spare bedroom we keep open for unexpected guests that can be used by people needing a quite place to record, work or talk. The music studio and our old camper can also be used and others just find a secluded place outside.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 4 days per week


Host ref number: 282296264295