Join our family and help with daily life on beautiful Cortes Island, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Alex, Darshan, and baby Cove live on beautiful Cortes Island, our property is 4 acres of oceanfront.

    We work as therapists, and we recreate by being in nature, reading novels, or the New Yorker, listening to podcasts, playing guitar & piano, cooking, and playing Pickleball, and sometime Ultimate frisbee. We'd love to take you to play sports with us & show you the community here by taking you to events and potlucks.

    However, because we are therapists and work with people all day, we love our alone time, and are looking for people who are fairly independent.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live on Cortes island, one of the crown jewels of the Pacific Northwest of Canada. If you love nature, this is your place. Endless opportunities for hiking, kayaking, exploring, & wildlife viewing. Our home overlooks the ocean and we often see whales from our window. We watch and hear eagles screeching above us daily.

    You would be best suited to our offerings if you are fairly independent, and want time to yourself to reflect or be in nature. This island & our home is is a perfect artist retreat, or nature adventurers' playground. Cortes is also host to an incredible alternative community, with plenty of artists, creatives, farmers, and progressively-minded folks.

    There is a lot on offer here in the summer, we are a destination that people come to worldwide, for sailing desolation sound, or participating in Hollyhock workshops or general nature recreating... In the wintertime, there are community events still happening, but it's a more quiet place. We are currently looking for people to come in the fall/winter 2022/2023.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for a couple or individual that is detail-oriented, likes to clean, cook vegetarian/vegan food, and is good with babies! (LGBTQIA+ welcome).

    We have a 10-month old little guy & an aussie shepherd dog, both love people. We are primarily looking for someone to help us with child care, cleaning & cooking, ideally you can also help with yardwork & maintenance as we have a large waterfront property.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Brand new tiny home, 220 square feet. Views overlooking the ocean, window nook to sit and read. There is an office nook in the tiny home with high-speed internet. I work online so the internet on the property is usually quite strong. Electric heat. Kitchen with hot plates and toaster oven.
    No inside bathroom, instead there is an outhouse nearby. And an outdoor shower and hot tub.

    It is a brand-new beautiful space, we ask that you treat it gently, as though it were your own.

    The tiny home isn't totally finished on the outside, the cedar shingles have have yet to be completed. But it is completely livable and we've had family vising and staying in there all summer.

    We will provide vegetarian food/groceries for you. Part of the work agreement will be for you to help prepare meals and buy groceries. But you will also be able to make food for yourself whenever you want it or need it!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can use our electric bikes, our kayaks and our stand-up paddleboard. Sometimes you may be able to use our car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    For a couple we would expect 3-4 hours per day, 5 days per week. For an individual we will expect 4-5 hours per day, 5 days per week.


Host ref number: 279517893478

Give the gift of Workaway
read more

Find your perfect host