Come to our regenerative farm and become involved in the local community in Lofoten area, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 96 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    930

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Third season running regenerative farm. We have 7 heifers that will calve this summer and 50 laying hens in a mobile chicken coop, with a strong focus to improve soil health. As of 2019 we are starting preparations for the market garden aspect of the farm.

    We care about and try to be involved in the local community - a friendly and welcoming place called Vestbygda with about 300 inhabitants. We have worked and continue to work on development projects, especially aimed at filling up some of the sadly plentiful empty houses in the community.

    The ideal volunteer for us has one or more of these traits; a strong interest in regenerative farming, interested in longer term stays, is of a highly adaptible and open mindset, in posession of strong social skills and intuition, has one or more specialized skills. We can't accomodate entitled, needy, stingy or dependent people.

    Our family consists of the two of us, Elisabeth and Andreas, our foster child who's turning 13 this year and our son who will be one year old in May. In addition we have one long term farm volunteer, who is both helping out when needed and working independently on projects.

    We practice a two week trial period for all volunteer placements. If we during these two weeks find that we are incompatible, you will be asked to find elsewhere to stay, as we spend our time babysitting people that have come to the wrong place.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Northern Norway provides a pretty unique framework, not only with spectacular nature, but an open and welcoming population. With us you'll be part of our lifestyle, but also have the choice to get to know the local community and get involved. We personally enjoy literature, music, chess, good food and drink, and pretty much anything else that's interesting.

  • Help

    Help

    What we need help with depends on the season. There is animal moving, fencing, maintenance, forest help, housekeeping and many other things - life on a farm isn't always easy to predict. We appreciate clear thinkers and communicators, good cooks and practical skills. A driver's license is a must, and so is a strong command of English or a Scandinavian language. Please indicate specifically in your request whether you fulfil these criteria.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, English, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room in a separate house from ours. There is no wifi available in the house of lodging, and we don't care much for people hanging about our house just to be online/lost in a screen. If this is a priority for you, this is not the right place. However, there is internet access available for all necessary purposes.

    We provide linen and other common amenities. We expect tidy and organized people with good social intuition - having lived with others before may be useful.

    Foodwise we are adventurous omnivores, and we tend to share two to four meals a day, depending on the work day. We can not accomodate any alternative diet to our own - in order to stay with us you can't be picky or have special requirements of any sort. Outside the meal times there is food available, and nobody tends to be hungry around our place. Please take special care to show that you have understood this point before initiating a stay with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you may enjoy nature that is just outside your door, participate in social events or various activities in the community or perhaps borrow a book from our library that does contain some interesting titles. Please be proactive in this department, and don't expect to be entertained - we will include you as much as we can, but also have more than enough with managing the farm, family and business.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 277888894226