Come and help on our horse retirement eco-farm in Liskeard, UK

Country

United Kingdom

new host  

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    67.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Paul and I are farmers in Cornwall where we grow a sustainable eco-crop. We also have a horse retirement home for old or injured horses & ponies. Our work revolves around looking after retired or injured horses & ponies who come to stay at the farm. The horse work involves mainly mucking out and feeding them with a little handling. There is some general property maintenance work and some house cleaning work. The work takes approx 4 hours a day for 5 days a week. We can provide accomodation for a single person or a couple.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Paul has a degree in chemical engineering. He specialised in alternative energies. Ellen has an English degree and enjoys languages. Paul & Ellen have built up a fund of knowledge through researching their decision to leave traditional farming techniques and to swap across to eco-techniques where the soil is regenerated through no-till farming rather than eroded through ploughing. Through winter, there is little regenerative work. Mainly the work involves looking after the horses. Ellen has gained her British Horse Society stages I = III in Horse Care and Management & will teach horsecare to Workaway workers. Ellen will use her BA Hons English degree to help with English learning this is best done whilst working. Paul is a great vegan &/or non-vegan curry cook and is always ready to impart his huge alternative energy research knowledge & projects (gained through his degree and though his farm projects) to workaway workers during his once weekly curry night.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    The tasks per day would involve driving our small farm van with feed in it to check and feed approx 2 - 6 fields of horses (2 to 3 horses per field). We throw the hay over the fence. Report to Ellen & Paul if a horse is poorly. Then there are 5 stables to muck out and 2 small barns to pick up approx 20 poops out of. Then, with supervision & help, approx 12 horses are brought into their stables. Sometimes in winter the horses' rug straps need adjusting.
    The work that a Workaway person would do will be paid for at the UK National Minimum Wage rate after the UK Govt permitted allowance of (approx) £56 for the accomodation & bills (called the Accomodation Off-set) has been deducted.The hours worked can be as the Workaway person wishes (but agreed in advance) - anything from 4 hours a day to a possible 6 hours a day. 5 hours is probably the ideal though for the business.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I have a degree in English, I like to teach and learn another language in a practical verbal way - relevant to the tasks we are working on.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Static Home with double bed bedroom, second small bedroom, large sittingroom (with dining area). Kitchenette, shower/loo room. Set in rural area on edge of a farmyard just 5 minutes away from the local town where there is a supermarket, a Spar shop and a farmer/grower market and a local veg distributer and various pubs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's essential to have a driving licence for the work here. But also the bus routes will take you to the wonderful local beaches (20 mins away) and the local towns and the ancient riverside villages of the stunning Tamar Valley.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of space to park a campervan or motorhome

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    a well behaved dog is welcome

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    approx averaged 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 277843213363