Genuine working farm, Hunter Valley NSW. Cattle, chickens, gardening and general maintenance.

Country

Australia

Favourited 222 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We take volunteers for a minimum of 2 weeks and longer if mutually agreeable.
    Our farm is 4 hours north of Sydney with public transport available to our local town, Merriwa.
    We are a family of two parents and a son in his twenties that run a farm in the Hunter Valley of NSW. We are used to having volunteers and many stay a lot longer than they planned to as they enjoy the experience so much. We run beef cattle and free range chickens, we have extensive gardens to maintain as well. General farm maintenance includes fencing, building and mechanical repairs. We enjoy the cultural exchange from travelers from all over the world.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are 3 generations of our family living on this farm aged from 91 down to late 20's.
    We are Australians and have been farming for as long as time has been recorded.
    We like to show our volunteers what Australians are like by including them in our family gatherings and local community events.
    If you are interested we can teach you about sustainable farming techniques, small business management and a myriad of practical skills such as fencing, welding, building, stock handling - all the things that we do as part of running a farm.
    We are real farmers, we make our money from looking after the soil and our animals. If you are interested in becoming a farmer we are willing to host you for long term internships once you have completed a qualifying period, just email and ask us about this option.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Work revolves around the free-range chooks with daily egg collecting and feeding and watering as required. Beef cattle work from time to time, depending on the seasons. Our volunteers seem to enjoy cattle work in the yards. We use ATVs each day and also 4WDs. We have a large vegetable garden that provides a lot of our food and in return it requires some weeding and watering. Other work can include building maintenance and fencing. Some days we work longer hours if required, some days we work less, it evens out over time. This is real working farm and there are chores to do every day of the year because animals need to be looked after.
    Animal lovers are happy here.
    Sometimes volunteers are offered paid work after the two week minimum stay if they show us the attitude we require and the common sense that is essential on any farm. This is not the norm, just for the right people. This work will help you for your second year visa.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A self contained house beside our house has three bedrooms, kitchen, living room, bathroom/laundry and a sunny verandah overlooks the vegetable garden.
    You cook for yourselves most of the time, we have you to our table around once a week, more if we have other guests as well. If you are by yourself we will look after you more, if you and the other volunteers are getting along well we let you have more privacy.
    Internet access is limited, bring your own device for wireless broadband access to Telstra, Optus or Vodafone if you want to download lots of movies etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Great views of the Liverpool Range and lots of stars at night. Not a lot of "tourist" stuff here, but when any local activities are on we take our volunteers to experience them. The wide open space and sense of freedom and privacy you will experience here are frequently praised by our helpers. We require an initial two week stay, with the option to extend if everybody is happy. You must be able to speak and read English as we have an operations manual to help you learn about the farm. Being able to drive a manual car is important at least for one of our volunteers. We can take singles, couples or friends but no more than 2 at a time. You need to bring long pants, solid footwear, hat, gloves, cheap sunglasses, sunscreen and a smile.

    Time off can be spent exploring the farm, if it is hot there is a creek nearby where you can swim.
    We have table tennis, snooker, darts, bicycle, boules, football and plenty of walking tracks.
    If you have a car then trips to the local town takes just 10 minutes.

    We have more information on a blog which we can send the link to you when you email us.
    If you are interested in volunteering on our farm please make your email to us relevant to the work and skills that would be useful here, thank you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5













Host ref number: 275918117725