Together we create a biodiverse and cultural place near Nijmegen, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/01/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, nice to meet you here! My name is Olga, and together with my four-year-old son called Yeppe, I live at the most beautiful spot of Holland (in progressing :) Since 1 August 2019, I am the proud owner of a little Holiday farm. The farm is a 2.3-hectare site with many fruit and nut trees, a small forest, two small ponies, goats and a cat called Mouse. Barn owls and deers also live in the area. A visitor told me last summer "It is like the surrounding is hugging you". I found it a heartwarming quote and I only can admit it! We have a nice campfire- and bbq place to talk and get to know each other.

    Besides I'm still working in the cultural sector for three days a week. I studied theatre design, where I learned how to create new worlds on stage. This is what I'm doing at my job and I'm just starting to do it at my holiday farm. Together with art and nature, I create a place for freedom and happiness.

    Close in the neighbourhood, 5 min walk- or bike distance, you will find the river, the Waal. In between 5 and 10 min you find a big lake for swimming. The student city Nijmegen is 15 min by car. Arnhem, the inspiring place for art and culture, where I work as well, is 30 min by car.

    Since the beginning of this year, I discovered the way of working and living with Workaway. For me, it's quite new, but it looks like it's a very interesting experience. I think it is a great way to meet new people and to get to understand their way of living and habits. I would be pleased to meet you at my place, kook, eat and learn together, show you around, show the surrounding, inspiring, working and laughing together.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The small natural environment brings many happy faces and new contacts. We are never alone and friends and neighbours will come and help us. This makes the atmosphere energetic, and sometimes a bit chaotic;) But if you like to work and live with the unexpected between the structure, then you are in the right place!

    The working atmosphere will be equivalent. I think I can teach you a lot, but I also need to learn a lot!

    After work, I would like to spend some time together and do some attractive activities in the neighbourhood. For example, like visiting a cheesemaker, go for a horse ride or visiting a pub in the city.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    PRUNING FRUIT TREES
    Around the year, I need people who want to help me with prune fruit trees. There are around 20 old and tall trees such as pears, apples, plums and cherries.

    PICKING FRUITS
    In the summer we picking the fruits and we start to do some experiment with the fruits for personal use. We start with the sour cherries in June. With the plums in July. The pears around September and the stewed pears at the beginning of October.

    GENERAL MAINTENANCE
    Around the year there are always things to do like general maintenance. For example, repairing the fences of the animals, feeding the animals, repairing the plumbing, painting, cutting wood, gardening, or anything else that needs some attention.

    INSPIRING DIY
    There are also many opportunities to do something yourself. Tell me your ideas so we can discuss the possibilities.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would love to speak more fluent English. I can teach you Dutch if you like so.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You could sleep and relax in a warm mobile home at the campsite. There is wifi for watching television etc. Eating and showering will be at my place. We start with breakfast between 8 and 9. Around 13 we do lunch. And dinner will be around 18hrs. Together we discuss which kind of food you prefer. On Tuesday and Wednesday, I'm at my work in Arnhem. So for lunch, you have to help yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    By only running a campsite as a mother, I hope to inspire other people to follow their dreams. People often say things, that makes life seem complicated. But when you stay close to yourself, and when you do what is really needed, everything is possible. What follows is good positive energy which brings special experiences, which touches your and others hart.

    In fact I'm not profiting on a commercial way from working together. But I'm eager to make it a better place and I would love to meet you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can park any size camper or caravan you want here. ;)

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 275862533241