Help me to produce own food and renovate the house in the region of Heinsberg and Geilenkirchen, Germany.

Country

Germany

Favourited 94 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/09/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    0

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Sascha. I am 33 years, but I still feel like 22 :) I speak German, Dutch and English.

    After working (as a chef), studying (Food Design) and travelling via workaway, I am now working on my self-sufficient little farm, but I have just started so there is a lot to do. And therefor I need help urgently.

    Normally I make my money as a specialist in wild edible foods and survival skills (since my study), but at the moment I can't... that's also a reason why I need you! The idea is to produce as much as I can on my own land's natural as possible, but sadly without any toxic material. The overproduced foods should be sold to earn money for the costs I can't influence as taxes and stuff.

    I live in Germany near the Dutch Board in the region of Heinsberg and Geilenkirchen. The house is in a village adjacent to a road which is very busy at the moment, but begin May it should be more quiet, because they have built a second one nearby. The region is cultured land and woods. You can go by feet to the Teverener Heide, which is a beautiful place to walk and explore. I would like to teach you some edible wild foods if you are interested in.

    At the moment I can give place for 1 or 2 volunteers at the same time, you can go for the cottage in the garden or you have the choice between two different types of tents (a small one just to sleep or a very big one with two rooms).
    I provide 3 times food a day the whole week long, but you have only to work 5 days a 4 hours. We will work together most of the time, but that doesn't mean that we do always the same. So it can be for example, that I make a new compost and you are cutting the green and give it to the chickens I have.

    The chickens are very special, everyone is a special kind of old chick breed which are not longer used in commercial Chicken farms. The reason is that they lay round 40% less eggs. But therefore I have natural green, chocolate-brown, crème en white eggs.

    I normally (alone) start late with work (10-11) and do only the necessary needed things early in the morning (let the chicks out and feed them), but with a workawayer I seem to want work earlier :). If you prefer a special working time we can talk about and I will take care that you know what to do so that you don't need my help while working. Everything is possible to speak about.

    I don't have a car (and I don't want to) but the supermarket is 3 kilometres from here. It's possible to go by foot, but I can also lend you a bike if you need something. I hope you understand that I can't provide special drinks, but of course water, tea and coffee. (Maybe sometimes a beer while sitting near a campfire)

    We will work a lot outside but there also projects in the house. At the moment two rooms are finished the bathroom (which is fantastic have a look at the pictures) and the working room (a wooden room, a lot of work but now its so beautiful). So the other rooms will follow step by step.

    So I hope I have told you enough, but of course you can ask me whatever you want. It is surely better to ask too much before you are here and you're negatively surprised, which I can't imagine :D
    We will make it a great time, i am sure.

    See you soon!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live near the Dutch Border, if you go over the field you only need to go 3 kilometers to cross. However, the border area here is very special, a lot of beautiful little villages, but also big cities like Aachen, Mönchengladbach, Düsseldorf, Sittard, Roermond and Maastricht. So you can profit here from seeing 3 countries easily, because Belgium is also not far and we have a special daily ticket here, for a good price, to travel a whole day through the border area of these three countries.

  • Help

    Help

    Here is a lot to do. Many projects and ideas. For example, installing a woodburner in the living room to use the wood from my land for heating the house, build a greenhouse, cutting wood, gardening, take care for the chickens, installing more water tanks to collect rainwater, and and and... The helping time will be 4 hours a day, 5 days a week. Food is provided for the whole week. I'm a chef so I think you will like most of the food if you please tell me about special things like diet of allergies.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, Dutch, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    With the first woraway I made the cottage in the garden ready for summernights. So perfect for this time of the year. For the colder month of the year we have to isolate the cottage and to renew the roof. You have also another choice I have two different types of good tents for you (a small one just to sleep or a very big one with two rooms) and also a lot of other stuff hoe makes living in the tent easier. Space is enough so also if you want to bring your own tent is that absolute fine.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have wifi, but no TV.
    Of course, you can do whatever you want with your free time, but I have no car do drive you to places. That should be no problem, because I can lend you a bike or of course you can use the bus and train to get everywhere. If you like nature you will like it here and you don't need to go far away to have nice walks or just having a relaxed time in the woods. There is also a big Club open at the weekend, which is only 3 kilometers away.
    For the rest just tell me what you like and I will help you to find the right places.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 275641281613