Help me around the house and garden in the Barossa Valley, South Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/03/2019

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a pensioner that lives on a 69 acres property usually on my own. I have 3 children that do not live with me. I am very much into a healthy lifestyle. My place is without connection to the electricity grid as I produce my own with solar and wind energy.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am well educated and can give you valuable information about European and Australian culture. You can learn basic survival skills, improve your language skills and learn all sorts of handy knowledge around the house.

  • Help

    Help

    I am a healthy pensioner living on a 69 acres block of land about 6 km away from the next village in the Barossa Valley in South Australia. I would appreciate help around the house and in the garden. I am a handyman myself but certain things cannot be done alone.

    You can learn skills in many types of work eg building, gardening, repairing cars, electrical installation, water installation but also in Natural Medicine.

    I am fluent in English and German but also know some French. If you can operate a chain saw it would be a benefit for cutting firewood - but I can teach you. Or I can cut it myself and you load it onto the trailer.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Greek: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can live alone in an insulated shipping container with a side entrance and a window, furnished with a double bed and a cupboard. It has electric lights and a power point. But if you prefer you can also sleep in a small caravan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Barossa Valley is one of the main wine areas in Australia with many wineries near by. You can go to Adelaide (80 km) by bus but do other bus tours as well. If you want to travel further you can easily be away for 1 or 2 weeks on your own expense.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 275581891861