Help us in creating a permaculture demonstration site and information space in Medina Sidonia, Cádiz, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 102 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    364

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are in the initial stages of creating a permaculture demonstration site combined with a local agroecological information center/transition town community space. We have a 3 hectare site, a 5 min walk to the center of Medina Sidonia, a small rural town in Cádiz, Andalucía.

    We plan to develop the existing mature fruit orchard into a mediteranean woodland garden. Existing fruit trees are olives, grapes, figs, pomegranates, lemons, oranges, mandarins, loquats, plums, pears, quince, custard apples, avocadoes, bananas.

    We are in awe of living with the abundance this land offers as well as hoping to influence people around us to take small steps towards living more gently with the earth. We aspire to making a difference in this beautiful world albeit with a grain of sand.

    We are a bilingual English/Spanish family that believes that all religions are equal and to be respected.

    We are a family with 3 children currently living with us (16, 13, 10). Peace really is found while everyone is at school or at the far end of the finca!

    Preferably NOT chainsmokers!
    No pets because of our own donkey, dog, cat and guinea fowl.
    Remember we are NOT vegetarian.

    Looking forward to sharing our project with you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    At this stage anyone planning,to set,up something similar will see the difficulty with priorities and how everything needs to be done first!
    It is not a place where we have to accumulated experience to teach others but rather an opportunity to see what living a start-up is like, with kids!

  • Help

    Help

    Current projects pending helpers!
    Build a dry toilet and outdoor shower.
    Mobile Chicken coop
    Keyhole beds
    Clearing the stream
    Planting swales

    We will be rebuilding a small 40m2 house traditionally with stones, mud and lime with professional help but any extra hardworking hands would be great. I expect it to be a fantastic learning experience. Once we have approximate dates we will post them. Currently we expect this to happen over 9 months starting autumn 2016.

    After having learnt how to manage stones and lime we have a spring reservoir (alberca) that requires restoring and a reinforcing wall.

    Daily jobs: Loving the donkey, mastiff and guinea fowl Composting, preparing soil for planting, building terraced keyhole beds. Clearing the stream banks of growth. Digging in small scale fish net swales. Controlling watering systems! Helping with the food preparation.

    We would like to encourage people to come and enjoy the project and get inspired. We appreciate people who get a kick out of physical labour and a job well done. Helpers ideally should come with a three week minimum planned stay! We feel this is the amount of time needed to get to know the ropes and bond with the project. However if this is not the place for you please feel free to leave or be asked to leave! The work would be finca work as the children are now quite self sufficient! Contribution to the cooking and housekeeping is shared amongst ALL dwellers, kids included!

    We do request a photocopy of a valid passport for ID purposes and because you are effectively 'in our care'! Also we would to ensure that you have either the extended European medical coverage or some sort of medical insurance . Farm work involves tools and accidents can happen ea

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish fluently.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Currently we can only offer a tent or space for a caravan and participation in home cooked meals. Our food, we love food, ranges from European to spicy Asian. We are NOT vegetarian!

    Be aware there is very limited indoor space and both the only toilet/bathroom and kitchen would be shared with the family until the outdoor toilet and shower are built.

    We do have unlimited access to WiFi!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus services from Medina Sidonia are limited to 2 a day to either Cadiz and Jerez. However a traveller with a car is 30 mins away from Jerez, Chiclana, Vejer, 45 minutes away from Cadiz and 1 hour away from Tarifa.

    The nearest supermarket is 10 minutes away and the town has some shops, banks, cafés and bars! This is a town that has been inhabited for 3000 years Phonecians, Romans, Muslims, French invaders! The oldest Visigoth church in Andalucia (600 AD) is 1km below us and the area is culturally, historically and archaeologically rich!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 274691295696