Come and help us completely renovate this beautiful old farm house using natural and traditional techniques- Aquitaine, France

Country

France

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with two little ones. We moved from England in 2017 looking for a home in the beautiful Dordogne / Correze area. We bought a house and land that need quite a bit of work. And we have big plans!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a fantastic place to be. It is rural and close to a great many beautiful and interesting places to visit if you have your own transportation.
    We are interested in many projects and will happily involve you in whatever tickles your fancy. We were both teachers in a previous life, so would enjoy having an apprentice. Chris is currently spending time with wood and stone. He has a small sawmill and so you can be involved in the whole process of furniture making, from felling a tree, right through to creating fine inlaid pieces or carved pieces.
    I am pretty handy with a sewing machine, and have a few upholstery jobs on the go.
    We both love to brew. We love English ale, but like to mix it up a bit and try a variety of beers. We have a fermenter that produces around 200 bottles a pop, so it's a respectable micro-brewery and we'd welcome any interest.

  • Help

    Help

    We are interested in many projects and will happily involve you in whatever tickles your fancy

    There are many places for creativity or artistic flair here.

    There is a lot of lifting and carrying, but there are also many skilled jobs. We can find a useful, appropriate job for anyone's talents/preferences/experiences. Even child care would be a great help for us.

    We hope that the pool will soon be finished, so you will of course be able to have a dip when you like!

    There is enough to choose from, allowing you to do the jobs that inspire you the most.
    We will be there working with you!


    Outside, we need help:
    planting trees (orchard, truffle); installing and developing gardens (formal box areas, vegetable garden, herbs, wildflowers); maintaining a new small vineyard; rediscovering 'lost' areas - there is a woodland somewhere under the thicket!; willow fencing; stonewalling; harvesting walnuts; general land maintenance; creating a home for a flock of peacocks, as well as helping to raise them.

    The pool house:
    building a timber framed pool house; roof tiling; plumbing; electricity; kitchen and bathroom installation; paving; cobbling

    The buildings:
    There is a farm house and stable block currently in various states of repair. pointing; hemp insulation; lime plastering; painting; carpentry

    Autumn/Winter 2019:
    We have a new arrival expected to come at the end of October, so we are looking for a person or couple to come and possibly stay for the duration. Primarily, we would like someone to help with the new baby and our two bigger boys and perhaps a little cooking too depending on your inclination. If you are a couple, the other half could help Chris with the renovation project - there's always plenty to do!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a comfortable room that has a shower ensuite. It is on its own floor, so is very private. There is only room for a couple or single person, unless you don't mind sharing!
    We also have a small outbuilding (sechoir) that we have recently furnished with a bed. It is small and basic, but very charming. Again, there is only a double bed, so only a single or couple.
    We will cook for you and include you in our lives, for example, you can join us with visits to friends or day trips if you would like to. We are also very happy for you to use the land and take as much space as you need. There is plenty of room for a tent or camper if you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a rural area, so you really do need to have some transport if you want to get around.
    Our internet is very limited, so you'd only really be able to use it at the weekends, but we do have a plethora of films that you can watch in your own room without needing to stream.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Pool design
Inside the sechoir
Outside the sechoir
The workaway bedroom
The workaway bathroom
Stable block being renovated. Hemp plaster applied. And old bread oven
Current view down over the pool, vines and countryside beyond
Outside the stables
One of the terraces
Chris, Bianca and the boys in nearby market town, Sarlat
A view from across the valley

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 273257942256