Eat peaches till you become a peach on an Organic Peach Orchard Hood River, Oregon USA

Country

United States

Favourited 426 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/07/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dave and I (Alma) live 15 minutes from downtown Hood River on the property which is mostly peach and nectarine trees, about 285 total. On the opposite end is our home is and an area where we grow Tay berries and high bush blueberries, there's a lovely creek that divides part of our property. Our main focus and direction here is on the peaches and nectarines, we're pretty much obsessed with them. This year we're incorporating small vegetable and herb gardens and building separate living quarters for volunteers and guests. We're surrounded by pear, apple and cherry orchards. We practice organic management but go beyond that by incorporating holistic approaches and ecological thinking.

    Our place is a combination homestead and (relatively) small orchard. Hood River has a great community of farmers and has so many great outdoor adventure opportunities, we think it's a piece of paradise!

    The 2019 season will be our 4th year on this property, first year we managed it on our own, with some help of friends and family. July, August and September are the busiest (and most exciting!) part of the season because the fruit is ripe and requires a lot of attention and handling. It was wonderful having help and new ideas and we look forward to hosting more workawayers!

    Dave has a job in town that is year-round and Alma is currently working on her Masters in Environmental studies, which involves the orchard! We're both very passionate about the orchard and are hoping to incorporate new projects such as a worm composting pile and an area to produce compost tea.


    ~~~~~~

    Nuestro huerto esta localizado en Hood River, Oregon como a una hora de Portland, Oregon. Aunque estamos rodeados de huertos de manzanas y peras a nuestro alrededor, nosotros nos enfocamos en los duraznos y nectarines, ya que tenemos mas de 20 variedades. En esa área hay mucho que ver de la naturaleza, con paisajes hermosos. Estamos un poco lejos de la ciudad, así que es practico moverse en carro. La temporada mas alta (y deliciosa) es cuando los duraznos están maduros que viene siendo en julio, agosto y septiembre. Además de duraznos tenemos ciruelos, y moras. Nosotros sugerimos que se queden un mes o un poco mas para que conozcan bien el trabajo y el área.


    Otros trabajos que no son de agricultura incluyen: conservas caseras, deshidratar comidas, construcción, y restauración del hábitat. Nosotros tenemos la expectativa que como visitantes van a tener respeto hacia toda la gente presente y demostrar cuidado hacia el huerto, ya que es muy querido. Hay varias opciones de alojamiento que proveemos, la primera es un camión de escuela, lleva una camita y una mesa, muy sencillo. La opcion de este camion solo es para estancias de 1 mes or mas largas. La otra opción es una casa de campar muy grande que va debajo de un árbol junto al arroyo en nuestra propiedad. Seria otra opción traer alojamiento propio como en carro de campar. Tenemos una cocina chica que es al aire libre, además de un baño y regadera. Aquí no pasan camiones para llegar a la ciudad (como para hacer compras), así que requerimos que tenga una manera de transportase a si mismo. Hablamos español e ingles, tod@ persona es bienvenid@. Acéptanos mascotas y tenemos mascotas.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Hood River is a very scenic and beautiful area to visit in itself. We're very flexible about help hours and love to explore when we have the time. With help we hope we'd have more time to explore and take you exploring in this part of Oregon. We love to share our knowledge on growing peaches and what it takes to maintain the whole health of the farm and farmers. In general, we are very curious and love to learn and keep exploring. Also, I love to cook!

    I speak English and have worked with several family members on helping them practice language skills. I also am fluent in Spanish and it would be a plus for my partner to be around someone else who is practicing Spanish also, I'm happy to practice Spanish with you.

    We have some experience in woodworking and building. I'm a student in Environmental Studies and my partner is a works in the local hospital.

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for help taking care and maintaining our peach orchard in beautiful Hood River. We have several gardens that would love more attention and plans for habitat restoration on our property. This includes, weeding, watering, planting, thinning, harvesting. We have several infrastructure projects such as a small greenhouse and composting area too.

    In addition, we'd love to build a website and have minimal experience doing this so it would be a great plus if you were tech savvy and liked taking photographs. Help around the house would be a definitely plus as we're not able to stay on top of all the projects going on during the heavy peach season. With help, we'd be able to make more jams, fermenting, dehydrating, canning and share those things too.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    This season we'll be hosting more people, so we are open to the idea of tent camping. We have a few setups that we can provide ourselves and if people want to bring their tents that works too! There's a bathroom, outdoor shower, and outdoor kitchen with running water. We typically offer a schoolie but it's reserved for several volunteers that have reserved ahead of time and will be staying minimum one month. Below is a description of it.

    BUS
    We're working on converting our school bus into an RV, so at the moment we have a comfy bed and table area in the school bus as accommodation. There's a private bathroom with running water as well as a small outdoor kitchen. There's a cute outdoor shower with cedar slats. Since our schedules are not always fixed, we plan on having a list of staple foods that we will provide you with and some meals which we will prepare for you as time allows. We will restock you with food as needed for you to cook.

    Kingdom TENT
    We have set up a large tent that fits a queen size bed by the creek on our property, it's really called a Kingdom Tent :3 It's spacious and at a distance from our house and the schoolbus, so there is some privacy. The rest of the spaces are shared: the outdoor kitchen, shower bathroom with the other guests.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's so much to explore in Hood River! It draws people from all over the for kite boarding and wind surfing. There is mountain biking, hiking, waterfalls, and mountains- even the desert isn't that far away! Portland is only about an hour drive away. There's no shortage of exploring nature that can be done here. We love to go hiking whenever we get the chance and there are several good swimming holes for the very hot days. The PCT trail is not far from us. There's also a great community of farmers in our area, some of which host pot lucks or farm tours to share bounty and knowledge.

    COVID- 19 Update:
    Many trails have been closed in the area. I would strongly recommend that you ask me how things are so you have an idea what to expect when you get here and also to do your own research on the regulations for the State and county.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 273113192354