Help our family with daily chores, child care and our dogs in West Wales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 40 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/12/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, we are an older couple (Doug and Barbara)living in a an old 18th century Mansion in West Wales. We are a ten minute walk from the Atlantic Ocean and we are located within an area which is rural and picturesque. We have my daughter Mimi who is 28 living with us and her 20 month old son Abe, and next door we have my husband's daughter and husband and two children - Isla aged 11 and Michael aged 9. There are five large dogs who live next door and our two small dogs who live with us. We live in a fairly isolated place with lots of beautiful countryside around us. There is a woollen mill a short walk away with a great cafe and internet. The nearest towns are a short car ride away - Fishguard is the nearest and St David's is also close by. We are a lively easy-going bunch of people and we would be happy to welcome you and show you our area, introduce you to our friends and include you in everything!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Wales is a beautiful and unique part of the UK! You would get to know our area and our friends as well as our family. We are outgoing and often have events in our ballroom (yoga every Wednesday for example!) You would be invited to live with our family, sharing meals and going out and about with us. My daughter, Mimi, is a qualified TEFL teacher so she can help you with developing your English. She grew up in Holland and speaks some Dutch but also lived in Spain for many years so speaks good Spanish. I am also a qualified TEFL teacher and lived in Portugal for five years. My husband and I speak some Portuguese.

  • Help

    Help

    We basically need some helping hands! We would like someone to help with chores around the house and joining in with childcare and looking after our two dogs. We have someone who cleans the house already and someone who does gardening so you would only be required to help out with everyday tasks - cooking; clearing up; helping recycle domestic waste; folding laundry; helping with shopping; helping with children etc. We would invite you to live as a member of the family and you will be invited to come with us on various outings, events eg. going out for walks; shopping; local activities; etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own room with your own bathroom in our house. You can choose from a number of rooms depending on which one appeals to you. You would eat your meals with us - perhaps you would like to cook for us occasionally and give us a taste of your national cuisine? We all help out with meals - preparing vegetables, cooking things and washing up. At weekends, we all get together and have big family meals!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are used to having young people staying with us! We love it! Over the years we have had students, family and friends of family staying as well as doing couch surfing and hosting musicians and artists. We often have visitors and we love to welcome people to our home! We are relaxed and easy-going. There is the opportunity for walking, swimming, coasteering, canoeing, surfing and other outdoor activities. There is also a lively art scene with lots of workshops and events. There is a small cinema in Fishguard with good films; there is also live theatre and music. Transport is difficult but we are happy to drop you off and pick you up at reasonable times although joining in with us would be easier and we do get out and about a lot! It may be possible for you to borrow a car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 272848131698