Help on an Icelandic farm and guesthouse, horse riding

Country

Iceland

Favourited 634 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/05/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    212

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an Icelandic/Dutch family of 6, running a sheep farm and guesthouse in north east Iceland. Our youngest daughter of 15 still living at home. The others dropping by and living with us once in a while.

    Just people who can stay for this whole period; beginning of Mai til end of September, are considered! We run a small guesthouse and bar in the middle of nowhere, and a sheep farm with about 500 sheep, 15 horses, Border Collies and some Icelandic hens.

    You assist in any work that needs to be done in guesthouse and farm.

    We are looking for someone who likes the challenge of doing all kind of different jobs. And help us out in all of our projects, you will learn a ton; Especially important is that you are an experienced horse rider, a plus is when you have been riding Icelandic horses. While doing some work at the farm and around the guesthouse, there is plenty of time to train our horses and keep us company on rides.

    Also looking for someone who loves to cook. You will prepare dinner for our guests, our menu consists of trout we catch in our lake and lamb- and sheep meat from the farm. Other ingredients are vegetables from our garden and greenhouse.

    If things work out well with horse riding also we even could need your help till the end of September at least.

    In return for your efforts we promise you will have a great experience, a lot of new experiences and we will teach you everything we know about the fields we work in. So you leave with a package of new material which can help in whatever you'r gonna take on in the future.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll learn loads about living on the country site. How to live in a self sustainable lifestyle. What it takes to run your own business. And off course the Icelandic language for those interested.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Planting trees, looking after lamb and other animals, painting jobs, some gardening, welcoming guests, preparing breakfast, preparing drinks at the bar in the evening, cleaning rooms, preparing dinner for guests for the one hired as a cook. Various jobs around the farm, depending on your abilities. Riding and training our horses.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Danish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will have a private bedroom and all meals are included. Since we are a working sheep farm and producing our own lamb and sheep meat, a large part of our diet includes meat, and also fish that we catch in the lake. Not at all suitable for vegan or vegetarians.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A paradise for nature lovers, endless possibilities for hikes on your own in nature. Rich bird life, ecxiting for photographers. The village is 14 km away, possible to engage in things organised in the village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day




Host ref number: 272229236737