Small farm with orchard in picturesque Normandy, France

Country

France

Favourited 85 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Pour faire court, j'ai besoin d'une ou deux paires de bras pour un grand ménage de printemps avant la mi-juin. Jardinage, désherbage, débroussaillage... peut-être un peu de réparation de clôtures, rangement et nettoyage. Le genre de tâches où il vaut mieux se motiver à plusieurs.

    Long story short: I need your help in cleaning the mess in my small farm. Gardening, weeding, clearing brambles, that kind of stuff, mainly. Also maintaining fences, tidying things up, cleaning rubbish...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll be in good hands if you want to learn or deepen your knowledge of French (one of us is a trained language instructor).

    You can also learn a great deal about Indian and Nepali culture.

    We prefer to host people with at least some experience of farming. Ideally, you should be comfortable with animals and machines such as a brushcutter or a tractor.

  • Help

    Help

    The main and most urgent task now is to take care of the orchard (several hundreds of apple trees). As we don't use weed-killers, brambles constantly threaten to take over and need to be controlled. We expect you to know how to use a brushcutter.

    We may also need your help in maintaining fences.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Persian (Farsi): Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Hindi: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Nepali: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom with double bed, with or without separate bathroom depending on availability. Wi-fi.

    Chambre avec lit double, avec ou sans salle d'eau à part selon disponibilité. Wi-fi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's virtually no public transportation apart from the railway station (trains to Paris, Caen, Rouen and Le Mans). The town is a bit far to walk to but there'll be a bicycle/moped at your disposal.

    Recreational activities will seem limited if you're not the quiet, nature-loving sort, but the area is really lovely. The nearest beach is some 30 km away.

    We welcome language students. One of us is a trained and experienced French teacher so be prepared to hone your skills! We are eager to learn about your language too.

    We welcome people from all walks of life, no matter how different from us. We do expect a similar openness on your side.

    We particularly welcome people from Asia and the Middle East or people with an interest in / a taste for these regions and their culture.

    We welcome non-smokers and vegetarian people. We don't smoke but our dietary habits are not 100% vegetarian.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week max, 2 days off

Host ref number: 2719447144dd