Join our family living on an eco-farm off the grid in Piemonte, Italy

  • Favourited 474 times
  • Last activity: 23 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, Workawayers!

    We are a family of four: Nora (2007) she is studing in Switzerland, Livio (2008), he has just finished school, Verena (1968), and Mario (1969). We decided to move here from Switzerland in 2007 to raise our family in a different lifestyle, connecting with nature.

    When we arrived here we had to rebuild the roof and renovate the rooms of this old country house by ourselves with some help from our friends and relatives.

    Nowadays, we run a small eco-farm with 4 goats, 2 donkeys, 2 horses, our dog, Zibo, 3 cats, and a small army of rabbits and chickens. All the work is done by hand.

    It doesn't matter to us if you are a single person or a whole family; if you are a nature lover, looking for a quiet place, and willing to work, you are welcome!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn more about our lifestyle, respecting the enviroment we live in, and enjoying the products of our eco-farm (goat cheese, rabbit meat, milk, eggs, vegetables...). If you are open-minded and curious, you will also learn many skills that support having a sustainable lifestyle.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    April to October:

    This is our busiest season, work in this period includes:
    - gardening, picking up vegetables; we have a large vegetable garden and a lot of fruit trees, and making hay (a few days during June/July and August)
    - helping with tasks for our private family and spaces, like cleaning, help around the house, and meal preparation
    - helping with the animals milking the goats and making chees, feeding the rabbits, helping with the horses...
    -engaging with children in a variety of activities, such as volleyball, table tennis, football, etc.

    October to March (depending):
    - preparing the vegetable garden for the winter time
    - cutting wood
    - renovation projects
    - cooking and help around the house
    - fixing fencing and preparing the trees and garden for the winter months
    - spending time with our children (we are especially interested in language practice and any other creative project ideas you have for our children in the winter)
    - shovelling snow :-)

    Year-round:
    - gardening, we have a large vegetable garden
    - Taking care of the animals (walking, milking, cleaning ...)
    - cooking and preparing meals for the family


    It's important to us that you can deal with children and animals.
    If you have some experience with handworking (building, carpentry, welding), you will probably have a chance to put it to use. If you are not familiar with these activities, we will be pleased to teach you.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are interested in improving our English and Italian. We are originally from Switzerland, so we'd be happy to help you with Swissgerman or German!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If available, you will have your own fully-equipped apartment (bathroom, kitchen with fridge). If all the apartments are being used by our guests, you will sleep in our comfortable caravan that sleeps four people and includes water, heat, and electricity.

    There is NO WIFI, only W-LAN connection (it's a cable connection; most newer computers don't have the right connection, so we'd recommend bringing a converter cable if you want to use it). We ask you to bring your own computer if you wish to use the internet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The closest small village is Levice. You can't reach us by public transport.
    The best for us is to pick you up at the bus station of Cortemilia ( 20 minutes by car). You can arrive there from Alba, Acqui Terme or Savona by Gelosobus, or the train station of Cengio or Saliceto ( 40 minute by car). If you would like to come by car, there is no problem; we have enough space for parking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 234557884251

Feedback (13)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.9)















Enjoy life in the middle of nature and help with DIY construction tasks around the house in Montecchio, Italy
Help with gardening, cooking and animals in a beautiful country villa near Rome, Italy