Family Home with a View in the heart of Wine Country, Italy -Treehouse Maintenance, Working with Lavender, Mother's Helper, Creative Projects for Outdoor Living Spaces

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 75 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    599

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 20 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We bought our house as a full-time residence years ago because of the view and the non-traditional, open-minded, free-thinking oasis of scholars, artists, and nature-lovers, but we no longer live in it full-time and appreciate an extra set of hands to help us keep up the land and maintenance during the short periods we are there. Projects on our list are: weatherizing our treehouse, wood chipping, repairing the surface of our rock platform (kind of like tile work, but with cement, stone, and sand) repairing rock walls on our tiered land, re-painting the kitchen and guest room, repurposing found wood to make inspirational signage around the property, and landscaping design (low maintenance) design for our acre of tiered land.

    We are a cross cultural, multi-national, LGBTQ-friendly, family of three in our 40's. Carolyn is a certified Professional Life Coach and Child Life Specialist for global families in transition, a gentle yoga instructor, and amateur Big Band singer.

    Paolo is a surgeon by day (and some nights) and an amazing amateur weekend risotto and pasta chef. He's been known to pick up the guitar and play the blues. We love sometimes make a little music together.

    We have a 13 year old tabby cat and an active, expressive, creative, and curious 9 year old who loves to swim, drum, read comics, play Wii, dress up in costumes, pretend, and go on adventures outside.

    As a family we like a balance of focused work and relaxation/creativity. Typically, our summer days begin around 8:30am and end around midnight, though the house quiets down by 9pm.

    We work collaboratively and with the strengths of our individual helpers. Previous Workaway guests have come from France, China, Australia, Spain, England, and the US--all great experiences! We notice that qualities like flexibility, humor, creativity, collaboration, friendliness, open-mindedness, respectfulness, work-ethic, playfulness, and an ability to communicate openly have made for beautiful Workaway experiences.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Those guests who are assisting with the Lavender Fest will learn about different ways of using and enjoying lavender, as well as how to harvest, dry, and cook with it.

    On weekends, Paolo is more than happy to share his Italian culinary secrets and share his knowledge of the area and Italian history. He's also an anatomy buff for those curious about how the human body works.

    Spending time with us is a great opportunity to practice English, yoga, mindfulness, and simple living. Carolyn loves talking with people about their goals, dreams, fears, life lessons, and passions. She facilitates gentle/beginning yoga whenever the opportunity arises and is happy to share her Mindful Morning Walk if it's not too hot outside.

    If you like creating music with others, we've got a guitar you can borrow.

    Occasionally, guests have had the opportunity to come with us to the bi-lingual/cultural region of Alto Adige where we live most of the school year.

  • Help

    Help

    August PROJECTS 2019: If weather permits, we are available to host someone from August 25th-September 1st to help with tree-house maintenance (cleaning, sanding, are re-staining) and babysitting while I exercise and rehearse for a September concert.

    We have a few creative projects for the right person. We are looking for guests who have some experience with mosaic mural art, land art, reclaimed art and inspirational signage (so good handwriting) for the land.

    OCTOBER--one WEEKEND (mid to late) help harvesting olives (this is a last minute placement)

    JANUARY--First week of the year, we may rebuild our crumbling Dry Rock Walls on the tiered property. We are looking for experienced helpers with this project. This is heavy work.

    JUNE--One Weekend (mid to late), help pick cherries and cut/hang lavender

    SCHEDULE: Generally, our guests help with a project from 9:30-11:30am, then help prepare and eat lunch, help with clean up, and then return to the project from 2-5pm. Guests help with dinner prep, eat with us, help clean up, and then have free time to enjoy the land, go for a walk in the vineyards, hangout at the campsite, in the hammocks, or retire to their personal space. Same goes for early risers! The day of the party, hours will vary.

    FOOD/COOKING: We love trying the traditional foods of our guests' home countries. Please let us know if you'd like to cook for us and we'll buy the groceries. Otherwise, in our house you can expect to eat fresh and simple meals, made mostly of whole foods. I tend toward Asian, American, and Mexican-influenced dishes and Paolo towards pastas and other typically Italian dishes!

    DAYS OFF: Unless other arrangements are made, guests have two free days within each 7 day time-frame to explore the nearby cities and sights. I am available to take guests to the train station or bus stop for those who want to explore and travel in their free time. Some have used Uber and BlahBlah cars to get where they need to go. Food/Meals are on your own during days off, unless otherwise discussed.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The neighborhood is agricultural, known for grapes, olives, and cherries. You will see farmers working in their vineyards and tractors on the roads. We are close with our neighbors who are always interested in meeting our guests.

    The house itself is a two bedroom "casa di corte" built of stone in the 1800s. It sits on an acre and a half of land at around 1300 ft. It includes a single campsite with a hammock, fire pit and recently-build treehouse (thanks to Workaway guests Connor and Jesse)! The views of the valley and vineyards below are spectacular on a clear day. We enjoy slightly cooler temperatures and fresher air, making the humid Veneto summers much more tolerable.

    Guests stay on the spacious third floor (top floor) of the house*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️. It is an open room at the top of the stairs with no door (former attic). The room is the lightest in the house with four windows (and working shutters) and a skylight.

    There is space for personal items, two chairs, bedside tables, lamps, overhead light, a stereo, a full-length mirror, a laundry bag, a sofa bed, and good quality air mattress. A towel, washcloth, hand-towel, cup and space for toiletries is provided for use in our shared bathroom. Wifi, a fan, an exercise ball, and yoga mat are also provided. Card table or small computer desk can be provided upon request.

    The room can be set up for a single, couple, or two friends.

    NOTE: It's HOT in Italy in the summer! The room can become quite warm, so it becomes necessary to open all the windows at night.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We try to honor your personal space as much as possible, but must access our wardrobes in the guest space from time to time. The cat has also been known to sleep in the guest space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a very nice pizzeria/restaurant with a bar and another small restaurant within a mile's walk of the house, but otherwise, we are a 10-12 minute drive to the nearest town.

    Public buses can be found from Soave and the train station in San Bonifacio, about 25 minutes from our house. Guests have used Uber and BlahBlah cars or have caught rides to the public transportation lines with us (before 8:30pm) or our neighbors who work in Verona. Guests are welcome to catch a ride with us into town if they need something or would like to explore the small villages around us.

    We usually take our guests to local gelaterias and to Soave, the little walled medieval town in the valley where the castle still stands intact. For those who'd like to enter the castle and climb the wall to see the expansive view, there is a 6 euro entry fee. If there are evening sagras (festivals) we are attending, guests are always welcome. Wine tasting at 2-3 different wineries can also be arranged for guests, ranging in price from 12-20 Euros, each.

    On DAYS OFF guests have taken public transportation to Verona, Venice, Gardaland (Italy's Disneyland), and Lake Garda. Palladio's Vicenza and Galileo's Padua are also close by train and well worth a visit. Verona is an hour away, Venice an hour and a half.

    ALLERGIES: Our house is not safe for anyone with cat, insect, or gluten allergies.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Door art by another wonderful Workaway guest!
the view and the stone platform that needs fixing
Our Land
Treehouse in need of re-staining and repairs
Wood chipping...
Back patio--in need of beautiful mosaic mural...
Example of dry rock wall...
3rd Floor Guest Room, Open (no door) with 4 windows and a skylight; art by Padovana painter, Ivana Scalco
full-sized kitchen for those who like to cook!




Host ref number: 267515567152