Experience life on an ecological farming collective in Aspet, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 283 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are families living next to each other as a young ecological farming collective. We chose to live in a peaceful environment, with our children raised with unschooling, and with a lots of animals evolving freely around or in big pasture where they have plenty to eat all year around : chickens and their babies, geese, few sheeps, a dog, a cat… We are always working on our food autonomy with the maintenance and improvement of our organic garden, the greenhouse and the orchards, giving us many veg and fruits (from zucchinis, pumpkins, cucumbers, tomatoes, beans, corn, to peaches, apples, pears and blueberries), but also thanks to animals giving us eggs, milk (from which we recently made cheese of), and honey (we have one hive). We also self builded our wooden framed house (with help of many volunteers ☺) and are frequently improving it, continuing the eco construction together, activity in which you could participate. We rely mostly on the river and the sun for water, heat and electricity, have dry toilets, use solar oven when the sun is shining, developing to the maximum our self sufficiency in energy.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our way of life can allow you to share our values in everyday life: ecology, benevolence, sociocracy, ...
    In addition, you will acquire concrete skills by participating in construction sites in the following areas: eco-construction, organic vegetable garden, picking.
    We will also accompany you in the discovery of French if this language is new to you.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    You can help us with all the different activities mentioned in the description, and many more. What you will do mostly depends on the needs of the season, the projects ongoing, the wishes of the people here and your own wishes and interests. It could be maintaining the garden, spending time with the children, get started on a construction site, reaping the fruits, …

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    you can be accommodated in what was formerly the "chevrerie", with your personal room, with two single bunk beds and a wood stove, next to a kitchen, where we will leave you the basic products for breakfast and the evening meal on which you will be independent, and a small bathroom. You have access to the garden and orchards for fruits and vegetables of the seasons. We also have enough space to welcome you in wild camping, tent, truck or caravan, and can provide you with tent and mattress.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can help us at your own pace, as you wish. We will try to propose framed worksites, so we will be able to see together at best so that the events are suitable for everyone.
    The rest of the time, you can enjoy the place (mountain, forest, relaxation), animals (stalk, poney, cow, dog, cats).
    In the neighborhoods: departures of excursions, rivers where to bathe, a very nice bi-weekly market in the village next door, ...
    We are a little out of the village and amenities (4km of track to reach the farm by car, 1km walk). If necessary, we can see to lend our vehicles.
    The nearest town is 30 minutes away: cinema, shops, theater, ...

    We operate with free and conscious participation. If you do not know: we leave available the common areas (bathroom, toilet, washing machine, kitchen, ...) and food. You can use everything as much as you want. At the end of your stay, IF YOU WISH, you can leave a financial contribution to support our project, depending on what you have used, or if you want to help us with money, or what you think you have provided.
    For example, you may consider having eaten a lot and used electricity but you could not come on the construction sites as much as you wanted so you want to leave € 10 - or you have enjoyed everything but you do not do not want, or can not, leave money then you leave 0 € - or you have worked a lot and nothing eaten but you have a little money to invest and our project pleases you then you leave 50 € - etc.
    We propose this because we are a young project that we fund personally and where we are all volunteers and the participations allow us to get into our expenses without too much bursting our wallets and while cooking organic products of high quality.
    And it's quite comfortable for us that you leave nothing! Really :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 884294861487