1 / 5

Come to an off grid mountain home with a dog behaviourist in Fundao, Portugal

  • Favourited 61 times
  • Last activity: 13 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I'm Hannah, a dog behaviourist and Mum of 6 year old daughter Phoenix. We are creating an off grid, sustainable homestead project and renovating an old farm house in the Gardunha mountain range. We have horses, dogs, chickens and a cat, lots of fruit and olive trees and will soon be starting to create a vegetable garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about living off grid in Portugal. Learn about dog training and behaviour. Horse management possibility.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Maintenance tasks like weeding, pruning and planting, tidying the farm. Creative tasks like making veg and flower beds, fences, painting, outdoor steps and pathways etc. Collecting fruit and preserving, collect olives to make olive oil. Looking after the animals. For volunteers with skills such as carpentry, bricklayer etc. any number of building related projects required.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm English and would love to learn Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A modern (2012) 4 berth caravan with fixed small double bed, double pull out bed, bathroom with cassette toilet and cold shower and kitchen with 3 gas rings, gas oven and grill and mini fridge/freezer.
    The caravan has its own kitchen with basics and staples included. There is a once a week trip to the market. Breakfast and lunch is available daily in the main kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's a great area if you have transport, sites like Monsanto (the oldest village in Portugal), lakes, river beaches and water falls are 30-50 minutes drive. There are regular local and artisanal markets and options to purchase local, seasonal and homemade produce. If you don't have transport, the mountain has beautiful forests and views for long walks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have good, reliable WiFi. Because we're off grid and rely on solar, there can be issues during prolonged periods of rainy weather but there is a back up system.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have good parking for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 266149546417

Photos

Feedback

Be welcome at our piece of Paradise located in the peaceful mountains of Monchique, Portugal
Home sitting with family and assistant for Japanese fermentation food project, Alentejo, Portugal