Scottish Borders Farmhouse, friendly family with horses, dogs, sheep, vegetable patch and orchard, looking for long term helpers in Selkirk, United Kingdom


United Kingdom


Favourited 534 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We are looking for long stays of at least 2 months, upto a year, from March 2020.

    We are a friendly English family consisting of myself, my husband Nigel and our three children. We live in a farmhouse in the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, we have lots of animals, chickens, geese, dogs and horses. We have large gardens including a vegetable patch and orchard.

    Our home is situated in the dramatic Ettrick Valley only 1hour 30mins drive from Edinburgh. We are in a rural location 30mins from the nearest town, although there is a shop 5 minutes walk away and a Pub 15 mins walk away, there is also a bus available twice a week, although we drive into town on a regular basis and can just give you a lift when needed. The area is a nature enthusiast's paradise, we regularly see red squirrels, deer, otters, wild salmon in the river, many rare species of birds and more.

    We are happy for guests to borrow our bikes as there are superb walks and cycling direct from the property or you can borrow the kayak for a paddle about on the river.

    We would especially welcome an individual or couple who speak Spanish but potentially other languages too, to help our children pick up another language. You would need to be willing to speak in Spanish to the children from 10-1 each volunteering day, this would be your main responsibility. Our youngest children are 7 and 4. We are looking for someone who loves children, is kind and patient and is happy helping to entertain the kids for a few hours each day aswell as working outside with the animals and in the garden etc. Experience with horses also very welcome and riding could be possible in your SPARE time. We are looking for people who want to have a longer stay ideally 2 months minimum, someone who really wants to connect with one place and experience life living like a local in Scotland. If you are with us for several months you will have the opportunity to join us on family holidays at no cost to yourselves or enjoy quiet times at the house, pet sitting while we are away if you prefer. The Volunteering days of 5 a week are split into 10 days then 4 days off (per fortnight) to allow for time to travel to the cities and interesting places nearby, and we are very happy to help towards the cost of your accommodation during your stays away.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is much to learn, British culture and cuisine, growing vegetables, gardening, animal care, wildlife watching, language learning and more.

  • Help


    We need help in many ways but mostly playing with or teaching a language to our children for a few hours each day (speaking with them in Spanish at all times but they and us will speak English with you). Also, gardening, painting, spring cleaning, help with animals including mucking out stables, bathing and brushing the horses etc every afternoon.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We can offer a clean, dry and comfortable 4 berth caravan with wifi to share between two volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To state again, the most important part of this volunteer role is to speak in Spanish to the children, 10-1, it needs to be consistent and with enthusiasm.
    Please note that there is a trial period of 3-4 weeks for longer stays to check that we all connect well together.
    It's very important that quests enjoy nature and the outdoors, the simple things in life.
    We are happy to pick up from Selkirk or Hawick if you do not have a car.
    We will be working with you some of the time but sometimes you will need to work alone.
    We are more than happy to host people with little English, but we do ask that people are genuinely interested in helping us.
    We prefer independent people who are happy to entertain themselves during their time off.
    We are in a rural location, no disco's or large towns, so please consider this.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day (max 25hours/week)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)

Host ref number: 263858365439