Join our family at our off-grid place, creating a lovely space in Medelim, Central Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/05/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Family Offgrid place with Domes and Yurt needs helping hands, Idanha-a-nova,CB, Central Portugal
    We are living here sind nearly 3 years now with our 10 year old daughter. The land is 8 ha and only have had a a ruin, nothing else. The last years we buildt up 3 Domes, 1 Yurt and make a house from the ruin. Not all is finished now, the yurt should place on another part of the property, the domes nedds some finishing work, the same with the house.
    We are complete offgrid, have our own electricty and water, Composttoilet.

    If its interessting i work as a creativ - and have a lot stuff here for shirt/textil printing. Also colors, sewing machines and more stuff. so we can create if you want funny things.

    Our place is near a beautifull village, 5 minutes walk away, but you feel and look like in the middle of nowhere.
    The village offers a gasstation, pharmacia, little supermarket from old ladys :) and postoffice - needfull things.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A litte CarRide (15 Km) you are at the Boom Lake (better known from the Boom Festival) 10 km away Penha Garcia with a beautiful place for swimming also. Monsanto a wellknown old fantastic village 8 km from us away.

    My hubby is landscape Gardener and very good with this things, i am sure you can learn a lot.

  • Help

    Help

    We need helping hands with skills in building stonewalls, stonework for ways ec. Also strimming the land (landclearing- we have no jungle and its done every year, but this year it grows like wild, cause we had a lot of rain)

    Garden must be cleared, a lot of outside work and every corner :)
    The Garden is now more Perma than culture.
    Another Composttoilett must be buildt. A grey water system must be implemented
    The chicken place needs renovation and maybe some creative things.
    Horse fencing ec...

    A carpenter also would be great cause we need some actions on the Dome what need skills to fix it.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer a little Dome, Outdoor toilett and shower, or a huge dome with kitchen and shower inside - also a yurt is here. We eat plantbased, if you want meat, you must cook for yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    its not a problem to go online, not on all places - but its possible. A rental car is needfull cause our insurance for the cars are forbidden other drivers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 263476137452