Help us to care for our animals on a farm in Marija Gorica, near Zagreb

Country

Croatia

Favourited 456 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/09/2019

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5. We have a farm which started of from our love for horses. Currently we have 2 ponies, pig with piglettes, vietnamese pigs, chickens, dogs and a cat...and probably some other animals I forgot to mention.
    All our animals are well cared for. The horses are mostly out grazing so they have quite a lot of freedom.
    We live in a small house, we have started gardening a bit so a lot of current work is in or around the garden. The kids take a big part of our time so we currently need volounteers that are able to be alone and be self motivated.

    The place is approximately 30 km from Zagreb city center and the best way to go is by the city train - 30 min. As far as we are concerned you are welcome to explore as much as you like.

    We are open minded and easy going & like to get to know new people - especially those with a smile and positive spirit.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a Croatian family and think we can offer an insight into the Croatian culture. We like to share our experinces but also to learn from our volonteers.
    There isn't a person who can't teach you something and there are always stories to be shared.

  • Help

    Help

    We can always use help with caring for the animals. They all need to be fed and pens cleaned twice a day - morning and evening. In the meantime, help with preparing food, gardening, building whatever is being made at the time, if you have a nack for children, you are welcome to help out with Josipa (8), Simun (6) and Matilda (3,5) - any creative stuff you do with them is more then welcome. So are good ideas for the farm and any knowledge you bring with you. Of course you won't be doing all of this every day but as we do everything ourselves, we really need you to be of help.

    We are currently away from the house for most of the day so you are alone for most of the day.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Croatian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For volunteers we have a private room which is a bit secluded from the rest of the house. The washing area is shared with the rest of the family as are all the other facilities. If there are more volunteers, there is a possibility of you will share a room.
    Some of the food is provided but not all. You are welcome to use the kitchen to prepare your meals. There is a small store nearby where you can get what you need.
    If we are cooking (sometimes we don't, depending on our schedule) you are of course invited for the meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    While you are with us, if you have any horsemanship capabilities, you are welcome to practice them. Otherwise, if you are interested to learn how to ride and we have enough time, we'll be happy to teach you :)

    The ranch is in a small village so night life is nonexistant :)
    To get here you will take a short train ride from the main train station in Zagreb and we'll pick you up on arrival.

    Note: We will usually need a week to answer your request.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hrs
















Host ref number: 261818453532