Help us improve our English and take care of the house in Macaé, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Country

Brazil

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/01/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello workawayers!

    [UPDATE] *️We are now expecting a baby for June and in the process of turning the guest bedroom into a nursery, so we will not be able to receive anyone for some time.*️

    We are a couple from Macaé, Rio de Janeiro. My name is Mayara, I am 23 and my husband Alain is 27. We are very curious people, always looking to meet new people, new cultures and languages, also new places but we don't have much time to travel so we decided to open our house to receive workaways from outside Brazil, this way we can learn new languages, new cultures and of course, make new friends.


    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️The help/work*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    We both work on fulltime jobs out of the house, monday to friday. We have not much time to play with Aaron and take care of the house, so we would like you to do some housework and play/go for a walk with the dog. Nothing very hard, just keep your own bedroom/bathroom clean of course, do the dishes, sweep the floor, clean the downstairs bathroom, take out the trash sometimes and things like that.
    Also if you like to cook, we would love if you could make us something typical from your country for us sometime. Besides the housework, the most important thing for us is the experience of getting to know you, your language, your culture, and having fun together. We can comunicate in Engish but is always good to have someone native speaker to help us improve. If you speak other languages besides English that you could teach us, we would really enjoy that too.

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️The House*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    We live in a confort 2 bedroom house, in a very quiet neighborhood. You will have a private bedroom and your own private bathroom. There is also a full bathroom downstairs that you can use if you like. You are free to use the kitchen to make your own food, and you can use the washing machine to do your own laundry.
    You'll have access to the wifi, it is not the fastest but is okay to use. You can also watch the cable tv on the living room.

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️The food*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    We are not vegan/vegetarian. Meals are not necessarily provided. From monday to friday we are not home during the day, we leave early in the morning and come home in the evening. So during the day you are expected to feed yourself, as I said you are free to use the kitchen or go out to eat if you prefer. I usually cook dinner when I get home from the work and you are welcome to join us to eat whatever we are having for dinner if you like. We also cook when we are home during the weekends. You are always welcome to eat with us if we are making any food, but when we are not home or not cooking for the day you'll have to feed yourself.
    You can go to the supermarket with us and buy whatever you like to eat or ingredients to make your own food for the times we are not home, and then you will have your shelf on the fridge and a space on some cabinet to store your own goods.

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️Transportation*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    You will have a copy of the keys so you can come and go from the house during the day. We live in a very quiet but a bit isolated neighborhood, but you can easily take a bus to downtown, the beach or the bus station if you want to travel for the weekend and such. The bus stop is on the end of the street, busses pass each 40 minutes to downtown, we will explain you better how it works here. Good thing is bus ticket inside Macaé is only R$1,00 (Real) Or you can take a cab if you prefer, Uber is not commom here.

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️Other*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    You are probably flying to Rio, then you'll have to take a bus to Macaé, it is about 3 hours away.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach you Portuguese and the Brazilian Style of living. We can also indicate some places to go, our city is close to some really beautiful places like Arraial do Cabo and Buzios. You can take a bus to Rio also if you like, it is about 3 hours away. We have beaches, and more on the countryside/mountains we have some beautiful waterfalls here in Macaé. We can tell you all about Brazilian culture and history, and If we are travelling/visiting somewhere on the weekend you are welcome to join us.

  • Help

    Help

    As I said, we both spend most of the time out of the house working so we would like you to do some housework and give some attention to our little dog. Also, in the times we are home, we would like to know you better, learn about your coulture and language, improve our English and learn new languages that you can speak.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, English and some really basic Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own bedroom with a good bed and private bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We do not expect a minimum time of stay, but we expect you to stay at maximum 1 month. If things go really well we can think of extending your time if you like. Only one workawayer, or maybe a couple. No more than 2 people.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 261486719796