Help us create a natural living space in Mörtschach, Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In 20016 we bought a rundown and for 70 years uninhabited farm on the sunny side of the national park Hohe Tauern and we have been trying ever since to create a living space as natural as possible for us and our kids and animals. It is steep and a lot of things have to be done by hand. Our goal is self suffiency as much as possible. In spite of our alpine location in the upper Möll valley (1300m above sea level) we manage to grow most of what we need in our spacious garden and greenhouse. Forest and meadow offer us berries, mushrooms and herbs. Our sheep (Krainer Steinschafe) provide us with meat, milk and wool. In summer we mow and make hay by hand. In 2016 we started to replace our old house with a new living building and stable. Now we live in the new house and in the old house we host guests over bnb.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Michael travelled a lot and is speaking English, Italian and Spanish. We love to meet new people from all over the world because now with our little farm and the small children we don't have any time for vacation. We enjoy our life as self-supporters and would like to share our beautiful home and our experiences with other people.

  • Help

    Help

    haying, pasture management, gardening, animal husbandry, preserving of products from the garden for the home for the winter, firewood...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Deutsch, Englisch, Italienisch, Spanisch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the second floor of our new house there is a guest room and a bathroom for people who help on the farm. Usually we cook and eat together. After dinner we are very busy to bring the kids into their beds and after that we enjoy free time for us and our helpers. What does not mean that we don't like to drink sometimes a glass or two with our helpers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the region "Nationalpark Hohe Tauern". Beautiful landscape! You can hike in the mountains right behind our house. The next busstation is down in the valley about 40 minutes to walk.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

guest room
bathroom for our guests
Lake Wangenitzen, where our sheep spent the summer!
view from the "penthouse" (guest room)
first snow of the winter, November 2019
our sheep on the high alpine pasture
hay harvesting
the knollseisen family

Host ref number: 259256671345