Help at home with cleaning and outdoor maintenance in a beautiful country setting near Wexford Town, Ireland

  • Favourited 106 times
  • Last activity: 4 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I am looking for a couple or one person. Dog lovers only please!
    I am seeking help with house work, cleaning, maintenance, gardening, maybe some animal care and other odd jobs in a beautiful, idyllic country setting just outside Wexford Town. Mainly though your jobs will be keeping the house clean and the gutters and paths outside. Someone with DIY experience would also be great. Please read the full profile before applying.
    I seek reliable, trustworthy, respectful, hard working and capable individuals.
    Any task that I ask someone to complete is something I usually do myself, I don't ask anyone to do anything I wouldn't do. I work hard and always try to perform all tasks to the best of my ability whatever they might be. That is natural for me, I am quite a perfectionist and am only looking for people who also operate this way naturally and are not constantly looking for the short cut.
    You will have the use and enjoyment of a beautiful house and large gardens in a quiet rural setting but only a ten minute drive (30-40 minute cycle depending on your fitness level) from town.
    My 2 dogs will also be your company and you may take them for a walk up the road sometimes. They are happy, friendly creatures, my little guy is super playful and will be looking to make friends with you asap! My little girl is very sweet and quite lazy, she comes to life for food and walks but spends much time sleeping.
    There are bicycles so you can explore the local area in your time off and cycle to the town if you wish. I can offer you a lift sometimes. There is a lot of space to relax and be at one with nature.
    I will provide most foodstuffs such as oats, cereal, eggs, fruit, veg, beans / legumes, potatoes, rice, and bread, butter, jam and such items if you eat them. There of course basics in the cupboards like spices, oils etc. for cooking. I am vegetarian and prefer to host vegetarians. For the most part we will eat together and share the cooking. I avoid processed foods and try to consume only whole foods. I prefer to host people who care about what they put into their bodies and enjoy cooking.
    I do not use harsh chemicals and use natural cleaning and personal products as much as possible.
    I am into yoga and meditation and exploring my spirituality. I love just being in nature and enjoying fresh air and listening to bird song.
    Things to note: It is Ireland in the winter and it is necessary to have plenty of warm clothing and underlayers, particularly for working outside. Although I tend to warm up quickly when I am doing physical work.
    We are a short drive from town but without your own transport this is a remote location, particularly in winter with the short days when it is not inviting to go outside after dark.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While here you will learn about life in a country setting. I will be delighted to bring you on a foraging hunt around the garden to show you all the native wild edible and medicinal plants. There are books on foraging wild plants and mushrooms for you to continue with this exploration if you are interested. We feed the birds so have an array of native songbirds frequenting the "bird cafe" which you can enjoy watching from the conservatory. I would be happy to help with English language practice and can give you advice on exploring the local area on your days off.

  • Help

    Help

    Indoors will include general cleaning of the house; vacuuming, sweeping, mopping floors, cleaning surfaces, walls etc, cleaning the bathroom, washing dishes, washing windows.
    Outdoors; sweeping the paths, clearing the gutters, raking up leaves from the driveway, cleaning and tidying sheds, feeding the birds. There is not much gardening to be done at this time of year but there may be some pruning.
    There may be other maintenance projects to be done like fixing a gate or a tap, things I haven't had time to get to but if this is not withing your capabilities it is not a problem.
    The property is surrounded by beautiful mature trees which create a blissful peaceful atmosphere but also shed many leaves to clear up at this time of year!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am a native English speaker and would be happy to help you improve your English. I am learning Spanish and French and am at beginner level.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a large bedroom. You also have full use and enjoyment of the home and garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are bus links nearby, I can give you a lift to the bus stop to go into town. Wexford is full of fabulous beaches, history and quaint villages, some places are accessible by bus but without a vehicle there are many limitations. There will be a bicycle. The garden is a peaceful place where you can get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and really connect with nature. Just a ten minute cycle away is a fabulous castle ruin to check out right beside the river.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Broadband is not connected, I use my hotspot for WIFI. If you are stuck you can use my hotspot for work when I am here. There is a spare desk available.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 258835155544

Photos

Feedback

Help me decorate my log cabin whilst enjoying outdoor activities and nature in beautiful Kerry, Ireland
Help with my beautiful twins in our little village Stradbally in Co. Waterford, Ireland