Help me with some pet-sitting or teach me Spanish in Columbus, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/08/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a woman in my early fifties, an "empty nester" if you will. I was inspired by my daughter's experience as an au pair in France. Seeing how she was welcomed in the home of a family inspired me to open my home to travelling young people. I work often and often out of town. Therefore, we are needing someone kind, responsible, and respectful constantly there to take care of our beloved pets and plants.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you're looking for a true southern experience. Columbus can offer that. Depending on your preferences, we would love to welcome you into our extended family and you could be invited to all birthday parties, cookouts, and fish fries!

  • Help

    Help

    We are primarily looking for a loving, responsible person to take care of the animals when I am travelling. We have 3 cats, one dog, and a bird. All very sweet but with specific needs. Other activities may include taking care of the indoor and outdoor plants. If you're up for it, there are also some building projects we'd like to do in the backyard. For example, composting, building more raised planter beds, and even perhaps a small greenhouse!

    As I am also learning Spanish, I'd love to have a native speaker around to help me practice and learn!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A comfy room with a queen bed, 2 closets and private bathroom (although, not attached). Excellent wifi, large television in the common area equipped with all the streaming services! We can also offer a bike to use during your time with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Columbus, Georgia is known for it's class 5 whitewater rapids and bi-state zipline. We are within walking distance of the largest commercial and we're along the rails to trail path which is perfect for long bike rides! We are located 15 minutes driving from downtown where there are many main attractions: bars, restaurants, yoga & trapeze classes, national infantry museum and more. Columbus is also home to Columbus State University and Columbus Tech.

    Our home is 4 bedroom with two baths with a giant backyard that includes many raised planter beds and a pool. It's the perfect place to relax within the city and get to know some new people.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2 hours a day

Host ref number: 258195785672