Help out with household chores and with the kids in Chicoutimi, Québec, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are now a family of four living in Chicoutimi. I have travelled quiet a bit around the world myself before starting my family mainly in Asia (Japan, Nepal, Thailand, China, Tibet, Laos) but also in Australia and Europe (France, Spain, Switzerland, Netherlands, Greece, Belgium and Italy).
    We spend the summer in a cottage which has no running water nor electricity. It is a 5 second walk from a crystal clear river. We are the only one there although the village in only about a 5 minute drive. It's a quiet and unusual place.
    We have an outside kitchen which means that even if it's raining, we live and cook outside.
    I love getting to know people from around the world and learning from them and their country. Our mother tongue is French but my boyfriend and I are fluent in English. I also speak Japanese fluently as well, and used to be able to get by in Spanish and have a base of Nepali.
    What we are looking for? Travellers from all around the world with which we can exchange and get to know each other. As for the expected work, since I have two small kids, it would be mainly helping out with house chores such as cooking, washing dishes, playing with the kids. We want travellers to be part ouf our lives, meaning helping helping with the kids, waking up early (around 7) because life with young kids starts early ;-) We still spend the summer in the Gaspé péninsula but we live for the rest of the year in Chicoutimi, where we have a room available for travellers.

    I would be especially happy to practice my Japanese, but everyone is welcome.

    We would like someone who can stay for a least a week so that person can know his or her way around.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    We like to have guests in our home but with two small kids, we want people that will be participating in daily activities (which usually starts around 7) Since we also live in a beautiful area with a lot to see and visit, you will also have days off to visit.
    Plus we don't expect a number of hours of work

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, Japanese, and a little Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a room available for you, with sheets and mattress

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    About Chicoutimi, we are new in the area, so we still have to discover the area as well! But it is undoubtebly a very beautiful region, especially at fall with all the colour of the leaves turning red.
    We live in a small and touristic town where you can go kayaking or canoeing on the Bonavanture River (rated in the top 10 clearest river in the world), there is a friendly bakery with wireless internet, plenty of shop to find everything you need, a acadian museum, a beach, a nice area to go swin in the river.
    For transport, there is often possibility to find a ride to go where you want, or you can bike to the village. There is a lot of different sightseeing about 1h to 1h and a half east, west and north.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 257926993147