updated  

Help take care of our dogs near Cologne

  • Favourited 21 times
  • Last activity: 24 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi Workawayers!

    We are Maike and Anne, mother and dauther who are searching for a helping hand with our furry family members Holly and Lotta.
    A bit of information about us:

    MAIKE is working full-time as a product-manager about 20 min away from home. She just joined a dancing club practising twice a week in the evening, likes to go on hikes, cook and draw. Also she really enjoys long talks about everything and nothing with a glass of wine in the evening as well as a cozy morning with books and coffee. Maike will be your main person while you stay here.

    ANNE: I am a 21 year old student living about 5 hours away from home. I was a Workawayer myself for about 12 months and therefore know what it feels like to join a new family and be in a country you don't know with people you just have to trust for no reason. But my time abroad has been the best I ever had, so I am really committed to making you experience at our place the same. I am also the one managing the Workaway-profile and therefore your first contact.

    LOTTA is a 14 year old Dachshund-Mix rescued from Spain. She is still incredibly fit, loves to go for long walks, get her belly massaged and would never refuse a nice snack :D

    HOLLY is our newbie- a two year old Pointer-Mix from Bulgaria. She is my uni-dog, still a bit shy, but you can see her development from day to day. Her favourite occupations are running, skating, hiking and getting her ears tickled.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can borrow my car and bike whenever you want to explore the region. Maike (and me when I am home) would love to show you some of the beautiful places around us and arrange daytrips. We live in a paradise for hikers, having forests, famous hiking-trails (eg. the Rheinsteig), wine-hills, castles and small mountains only a short car ride away. The UNESCO-World heritages "Upper Middle Rhine Valley" and "Cologne Cathedral" are easy to get to as well. Also, you would be part of the family, join the weekly dinner with my grandparents and care for two amazing, well-trained 4-pawed hearts. There is no fixed schedule, so I am sure we can arrange your working time in a way that makes you get the most out of your stay here.

  • Help

    Help

    First, we are planning to go on a 3-night family vacation in the middle of August. Therefore we'd like to host a dog-friendly person to take care of our two girls (dog-experience would be a great plus, but isn´t mandatory as long as the attitude fits). After that I am going to visit my host families abroad again, so Maike would like to have a helping hand with the dogs during her long days at work. Also some basic work in the household (mopping the floor, cleaning windows, kitchen and bathroom) would be great. We prefer a person who is able to stay for the whole period of time, but feel free to get in touch anyways and we will see if we can find a way that works for all if us :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Icelandic: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a flat and you get the room I used to live in.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Many of my friends lived abroad some time as well, so I might be able to connect you with some more people you could go on trips with. We live in a decent sized town, so you can reach stores, bus stops and the train station on foot. It takes you about 15 min to get to Koblenz, and about 1h to Cologne and Frankfurt.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The working time is quite flexible and the dogs are used to resting while we work, so it should not be a problem.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If you want to bring your own pet, just text me and we can figure out if it could work :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 255795161742

Photos

Feedback

Come enjoy this extraordinary environment in harmony with nature in Arzberg, Germany
We are looking for motivated helpers who could support us in the garden in Schönewalde, Germany