Sami reindeer herding family in northern Sweden

Country

Sweden

updated   Last minute

Favourited 110 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    We are a family of 6 in northern Sweden. It´s me mom Elsa, dad Mikael and our 4 children, Per-Isak (11 years old, Elle-Kristina (9 years old) and the twins Nils-Mahtte and Lars-Anders (5 years old) and we have 3 dogs, so it´s a BIG family. :)
    We are sami reindeer herders in the second northernmost district in Sweden so we live in a tiny village with beautiful nature just around the corner.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about modern sami reindeerherding lifestyle, experience beautiful nature.
    Learn sami language.

  • Help

    Help

    In winter (november-january) we need help with separating the reindeers. It requires that you can work outside in very very cold temperature, it can be -35 degrees celsius. We will be slaughtering some reindeers so we have food for the rest of the year. You are welcome to help with that or not, it´s up to you.
    And we will be needing help with other day to day chores to, like childcare, cleaning, cooking etc.

    We are new to this so if it is something you would like to know just send us an email!
    We can't answer all emails, so if we don't answer we are not interested.

    If you are a carpenter it´s a very big + ! Always in need of one.

    Qualifications you need is:
    -Minimum age of 25
    -Drivers license
    -Likes children and dogs
    -Fun and outgoing personality
    -Hardworking, resonsible and flexible with work
    -No vegeterian or vegan (we eat alot of meat)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    sami language, swedish and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be living with us like a familymember and eating with us but of course you have time for yourself.
    We have a car you can borrow on your freetime if you want to go somewhere.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a very little village without any stores, the nearest village with stores and restaurants is 20 km away and to the "big city" Kiruna it´s 160 km. Nearest airport and train station is in Kiruna.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Flexible.




Host ref number: 255627581527