Help around the house and garden in leafy Sydney suburb, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I'm Mavis and I live in a large house in the outer suburbs of Sydney.
    I'm just a little over 70 now and really enjoy hosting overseas visitors and traveling overseas myself which I try to do about twice per year. I am a member of another international cultural travel group ,have had many great experiences with the group and now I'm going to try Work-away for something a little different.

    I'm not a vegetarian although my daughter is (neither of my kids in their 30's live at home now) so I know a little about cooking vegetarian food.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am involved in an international group Which has given me experience in recommending places to visit and how to travel around Sydney.

  • Help

    Help

    Help in the garden.
    Cleaning paintwork, painting .
    My son lives in Newcastle, about 2 hours drive north and has told me about work away which he has been doing for years. He also does some maintenance jobs for me, painting some time and I expect would be happy to have a helper for a day if I can organize for him to be here at the same time as you are.
    Help with computer, scanning photos
    General maintenance tasks

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have 3 spare bedrooms in the house depending on who is staying with me at any time. 1 room with 2 single beds, a double room with a queen sized bed and also a downstairs room (with more separate access and a little more space if you are staying for a while and want your own room to work in or have Skype conversations with relatives.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are about 10 mins drive from the "Koala Park" a small zoo of Australian native animals. The house is about 10 mins walk (5 mins drive) from Beecroft and Cheltenham train stations so getting into the City is pretty easy. It takes about 50 mins on the train.
    You may prefer full working days and full free days.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Queen Room
Dining / Lounge
Garden
Bathroom
Me - Mavis

Host ref number: 255326983193