Gardening help needed in Richmond, Virginia, USA



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    I live in a quiet and safe neighborhood in Richmond, Virginia.I am a 66 year old German female. I have a pretty irregular schedule. I have a small dog. My 25 year old son comes to visit once or twice per year.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a German who has been living in the US for 26 years. If desired you can meet my German,Spanish, English and American friends.

  • Help


    I am in the process of creating a pollinator friendly yard planting Virginia native plants. I need help with removing non-native grasses, planting and watering new plantings.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    A room in my single family home. A living room with a working fire place and a dining room.There is a deck and screened porch where you can relax outside. A large park is within walking distance. A bus stop with busses to down town is a few blocks away. I have a bicycle which you can use to get around town and and to the mountain bike trails along the river just a few blocks away. I own two Kayaks which can be used on the river or on any of the nearby bodies of water.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a women household and we share the bathroom. Therefore, I would prefer a woman to join me. I live in the city but Richmond is unique as I am surrounded by parks, forest, hiking trails, biking trails and a river in which you can Kayak or swim when temperatures are good for it. All in walking distance.There is the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts with great exhibitions and art programs. Richmond is now considered a "foodie" city. You can eat any kind of ethnic food you can possibly think of. We have an outdoor amphitheater, an opera house and lots more. There are regular art gallery events. The beach is 2 hours east and the mountains 2 hours west. Washington, D.C. is 2 hours north. The Flixbus goes up and down the east coast.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    One dog who is very friendly with other dogs

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    I am really flexible with regards to hours per day or per weekweek as long as the garden projects gets done.

Host ref number: 255298817786

Feedback (1)



Off-grid living in your own heated, hot shower, private bathroom cabin near Bid Bend National Park, Texas, USA
Glamping, tree houses and geodome experience in West Glacier, Montana, USA