Help needed on a farm in the south-east of Iceland!

Country

Iceland

Favourited 814 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    909

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are young family who lives in the south east part of Iceland on a farm with cows and sheeps, a dog and a cat. Try every year to do as much feeldwork as we can. We have two sons, 9 years old and 7 years old and a girl that is 3 years old. I'm 31 years old and my husband 34.

    We are mostly looking for someone to stay 2 months or longer(if you are very intrested in staying with us for shorter time, just send a message), because how small our guestroom is we can only host one at a time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The benefit of staying with us is to have an experience on volunteering on a farm, see the beautiful nature in the area, and being a part of our family while staying (we have now many lifetime long friends after starting hosting). We love to tell people about the history in our country and how the nation survived on this island in the old days. We like to show you as much of this area as we can and like to teach people as much farming stuff as we can.

    Our two little boys are very good at teaching Icelandic!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly help around on the farm, with a bit of babysitting if needed.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In our guest room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The biggest glacier in Europe is just in our backyard, Vatnajökull,many intresting tourist places near by, like glacier lagoon, Skaftafell etc.
    The benefits are meeting new people, not many young people farming in Iceland, wounderful children and much beauty in the nature here, I recomed to google iceland and this area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 253522337428