Beautiful Acreage With Earthen Building, Nanaimo, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 220 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/10/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2441

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for free-thinkers, social justice minded, and beautiful conscious beings! We are finishing a very unique earthen yoga centre on 5 acres of beautiful parklike acreage in south Nanaimo on Vancouver Island; we are in our final phase of the project. It is a work of art. We have a goal in the future to host various retreats and seminars about conscious living and nurturing a yogic and socially just life. We are vegan and believe in a sustainable and compassionate world for all beings. We usually only take short term workawayers for 1 to 2 weeks at a time unless after the initial stay we mutually agree that a longer stay is desired.

    We are interested in those who want to be a part of creating a conscious community and who resonate with the concept of selfless service (karma yoga). Ideally, we prefer a duo- friends or a couple. A mutually reciprocal relationship based on compassionate communication and meeting each others needs is an ideal we strive to nurture here. We celebrate diversity and value multiculturalism. We won't tolerate illicit drug use, dishonesty, or selfishness.

    Leila is a retired high school math and social justice teacher, yoga instructor, gardener and incredible vegan cook; she loves to share her skills and mouth watering abundance with the community. Regis is a dedicated master yoga instructor and professional IT consultant who loves nothing more than help others on their path. He is a serious aspirant of yoga and possesses a wealth of knowledge about yogic philosophy and practice. He enjoys sharing ideas about spiritual life and personal growth. We have two adorable cats in our family; we consider them our children.

    We love meeting people from all over the world who share the same vision as us and who are passionate about peace.

    We have had problems with last minute no shows and cancellations. Please have integrity and don't double book or ghost us. We only have one or two workawayers and we rely on them for help. We buy food and rearrange schedules and our lives around workaway visits...thank you. In 2022, we have decided not to put in a very big vegetable garden but there are flower gardens to tend to and clean up and beautifying the property. We are specifically looking for carpentry skills.

    om shanti, Leila & Regis

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our place is serene, peaceful and energizing. We won't tolerate illicit drug use, dishonesty or selfishness. We tend to live simply and expect guests to respect our need for a mostly quiet environment. We need a fair amount of down time, so if you are the type who needs the stimulation of people around all the time, this may not be the ideal atmosphere for you. We are independent-free thinkers who believe in a world based on communal values. . You can learn about animal rights, organic gardening, yoga philosophy and postures, social justice, computers and IT, and immerse yourself in a west coast alternative lifestyle. We are trying to balance a meaningful, healthy and ethical life but are not perfect...life is a process of sharing our strengths, eliminating our poor habits and endeavouring to be better people every day. We like to spend time just talking about life and sharing the human condition.

  • Help

    Help

    We would expect someone to put in an honest 4-5 hours of help a day. Carpentry skills would be a really big help for us right now. Some of the tasks will be solo, other times, you may have some company depending on our schedules. There are always tasks to do in terms of gardening, moving wood, rocks and dirt with a wheelbarrow, property maintenance, cleaning, painting, small repairs, organizing, or participating in a project that will enhance the property and its efficiency. Our main focus is getting the yoga centre up and running. You must be comfortable working outside with your hands, bring appropriate clothing and footwear to do manual labour. We only arrange for a few helpers per summer and we really count on them to be healthy and fully able to do physical work outside.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the summer, we have a big 35 ft trailer which is a fully equipped separate living quarters. It's new to us and we haven't figured out the propane stove/fridge etc...but mutual problem solving would be nice. Comfortable beds, electricity and WiFi are available everywhere. There is a full bathroom and kitchen in the yoga centre for your use if you have your own RV, van or want to tent it. The studio is available to lounge in the common living room area, enjoy some tea, read quietly, chat and relax in a unique environment. Leila loves to cook and will do communal meals depending on our dietary process (we often fast and/or on limited intake). Most meals are prepared by you; the fridge, cupboards and freezer are stocked with great food to make. We cannot offer completely organic food as it is often unavailable or is economically unviable. The food we do prepare is fresh, tasty and made with love. We won't ask you to cook for us. If you want additional personal preference food there is a grocery store nearby. Since we are vegan, no animal flesh products are to be brought into or consumed in the yoga centre.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a rural area and there is public transportation to town. We live in between two towns, Nanaimo and Ladysmith both are 15 min away by car. We are lucky to live near the pristine Nanaimo River (5 min.drive) and like to swim in it and explore its beauty during the summer. Hiking, the ocean, and downtown are within 10-15 min drive of our property in the country. Vancouver Island is an outdoor wonderland. In the summer, Leila may invite you to go on a kayak paddle with her. We also have a large swimming pool for everyone's enjoyment. We have an electric bass and acoustic guitars, hand drums if you are musically inclined. Unfortunately, we juggle many things in our lives and do not have much time to be a tour guide in our region. When appropriate, we will invite you to join us if we go on an outing. We have fun hosting potlucks occasionally and enjoy having dinner guests.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We live on acreage and can accommodate a van or RV.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 251664936413