Volunteer gardening , outdoor maintenance, painting, cat sitting.



Favourited 193 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    Family of three, mother and two sons 16 and 14 years . We live in a rural setting, close to Letterkenny and Derry surrounded by farmland and close to Lough Swilly.
    I am a ceramic artist and spend a lot of my time in my studio which is located in the rear of my home over looking the garden.

    2016...looking for worker for 1 week or 10 days no more than that..to help around the house paintiing, gardening, mind the cats. Non smoker a must...
    June 2016 looking for house sitter, someone to look after my cats while i am on holiday.
    Own transport a must in that situation as public transport is not very good...very limited and not that close to the house.

    Interaction and good communication skills with teenagers would be an advantage.
    We have 1 cats so if your allergic it wouldn't work out and it has the run of the house also.
    Irish weather in unpredictable so plans often need to be revised or put on hold. Donegal is possibly Irelands most beautiful county and a great place to explore if interested...
    I can read spanish, i can speak a little .
    Gracias. Maria.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help


    Currently i am looking for one person to help us out with some house painting and general tidy up in the garden...one week only would get it done.

    Ideally someone with experience in their particular field of work...I don't have the time to teach new skills or supervise all work being done.
    From time to time i would also be interested in finding someone to house sit...have the place to yourself and look after my cat while i take a short break..!!!
    Its difficult to get around here without a car so having own transport would be great advantage.

    My teenage boys are studying german at school and having someone with German would be helpfull to help with basic conversation German.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Irish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Our home is a 100year+ cottage that has recently been renovated and extended. You would have your own room and enjoy the whole house with us, Two living areas, large kitchen, shared bathroom etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The maximum I recieve visitors is for 10days. I am now a host on an online rental website and host during the summer months. I expect a lont from volunteers as i am providing nice accomadation, excellent food and a unique opportunity.
    I often find that the volunteers lack any working experience and are not very self suffient lacking even basic skills like cooking. Please dont apply if you are that person. It can be difficult to have continuous project that are suitable for workaway so a 1 week stay works best for me and my family.
    I have found that not all workaway experiences are positive..personality clash..having someone sharing my home whom does not fit in well is awkward and uncomfortable for me and my family, so i expect to get to know all workers in advance of their visit.
    I will not respond to emails if i feel applicANTS HAVE NOT READ MY PROFILE IN FULL BEFORE REQUESTING TO STAY.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours daily, work 5 days get 2 off

Host ref number: 24844943354b