updated  

Help an open minded, warm hearted family restore an old house on the island of Gotland, Visby, Sweden

  • Sweden
  • Favourited 162 times
  • Last activity: 06/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    In the middle of the island Gotland in the middle of Baltic is our home. Up until the 60’s it was run as a small farm, we would love for it to return to just that. However, at the moment we are just trying to restore the main house and the farm buildings with respect for the traditional methods, materials and of course the environment.

    Fole, our parish, is an active part of Gotland were people live all year round. It is 16 km from the medieval town of Visby, part of the world heritage. And the sea is never far away, you can go for a swim, either on white beaches or from cliffs diving directly into the sea. Gotland is the perfect island for tourism. You are never far from the sea, an old monument or beautiful nature. In the summer there are plenty of pitoresque cafés where you can enjoy a typical Swedish fika. (google it!)

    We are a husband and wife with two kids (8 and 9 years old), one dog, one cat, 10 hens and 1 cock. We like outings, good food, a glass of wine (not the kids 😊) and we love our friends and family. We thrive when the house is full and firmly believe “the more the merrier”.

    Kjell – pappa in the house – is an engineer. Fanny – mamma – works with education and sustainable development.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    When hanging out with us you will learn about the realities of a family in Sweden with school children. Maybe you will want to help us make cinnamon buns, go for a long walk in the close surroundings or tag along for skateboard training? We try to find the extraordinary in everyday life, enjoying the tulips in spring and the fiery colours of fall, please join us! 😊

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with our old farm buildings, which includes things like cast in concrete, restoring windows and alot of painting, You do not have to have any long experience. But you need to be a bit handy and able to work without supervision.

    We would also love help with the garden and every year we need to fill our wood storage.

    You will probaly be asked to work with things that will make you break a sweat from time to time.

    We can provide you with appropriate clothes in the sizes S-L if necessary.

    Most of the time you will be able to decide on your own when you put in your hours. But if larger things are taking place we might need help for a full couple of days. Normally we would expect you to work 5 hours 5 days a week.

    It is often the interest and the experience of the workawayer that determine what he/she helps us with. (And our available time to show the task) Some examples of things we would love to be helped with now:

    Painting jobs on smal surfaced - attention to detail required
    Painting of roof and facade of the house
    Creating and new raspberry field and planting clematis
    Building a construction for the hop and planting hop
    Renovating window lining and skirting boards
    Wood storage
    Plaster a part of the facade

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Staying with us you will have a room in the same house that we live in. We all share the same bathroom and kitchen. Your room is furnished with a bed that could fit two persons if you really like each other. Otherwise an extra guest bed could fit in the room too. You can close the doors to the room, but not lock them.

    During your stay we consider you a part of our family with the pros and cons! We will expect that you help out with the normal stuff that has to be done in a household. Such as, cooking from time to time, the dishes, cleaning the table and things like that. To be clear, we do not run a bed and breakfast – we are just a family.

    We are not vegetarians, but we do not mind if you are. If you are a vegetarian you would have to be a bit more engaged in planning and cooking dinners. We enjoy veggeis and do not mind having them every day - but we need help with inspiration and ideas.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From our house it is 3 km to the closest bus stop. We will lend you a bicycle so you can move around a bit more freely. If you feel for it it is absolutely possible to go by bike to the sea or to Visby, maybe just not twice in a day.

    Close to home there are several ancient remains, at least three medieval churches and nice walks through forests and cultivated land. There is also, in the parish next to ours, an abandoned limestone quarry that now provide for a giant pool with turquoise water. If you like fishing we will lend you our rods.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 248324177625

Feedback (4)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Welcome to Sweden and my little island Gotland in the middle of the Baltic Sea, Sweden
Gardening & Maintenance - Spring garden tidy for house dad in rehab after a "new hip" operation- Central Sweden