Experience pure mountainlife in rural Portugal (Cerdeira) and help us with our off-grid eco-retreat



Favourited 103 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    A beautifull valley farm in the green mountainous heart of Portugal near the Estrella mountains meant to become an eco retreat where we would like to invite people that want a time-off from their busy western lifestyle to work and live with us for a short or longer period
    To cover maintenance and building costs we allso take non-working guests on a donation basis
    Our 1.5 ha quinta has vine bordered terraces with lots of sweet chestnut, cork, olive and fruittrees
    We are surrounded by forests and have a beautiful view on our neighbouring village and land with crystal clear streams and super clean air
    There are waterfalls and river-beaches in the area to relax and lots of pictoresque villages and markets with local produce and arts & crafts to visit
    We are part of an international community that lives mostly off grid and selfsustainable
    We build with local stone, lime and wood and have alternative sewage and waste disposure systems
    Our food comes from organic/permaculture gardens
    There are lots of artists and musicians around and people who organize affordable workshops you could attend
    Unfortunately we were struck by the wildfires in october 2017 when trees and
    the slate house burned
    It would be great if you could help in the organic/ permaculture vegetable garden, plant trees for our Permaculture foodforest help with maintenance (brushcutting, watering, sowing, planting), prepair firewood, cook vegetarian/vegan meals, harvest and preserve produce from the land and help with some light construction work, like building platforms for tents, a shed, and (re)build walls of the terraces and stairs with slate

    Nico, 52 has a technical background and loves to work with stone and wood
    After he got severe back problems and had an near death experience he changed his life radically and worked with children that are difficult to raise
    He gained a lot of spiritual knowledge through all this and likes to share his wisdom with people who like to learn about life
    He is an intuïtive massage therapist puts up tipi tents, loves to make campfires and plays the drum and mouth harp

    Patricia, 54, studied fashion design and sold her extravagant and colorfull designs at small alternative festivals around Europe
    She traveled a lot, especially to Asia ( India, Bali, Thailand) where she produced her designs with small fairtrade manufacturers
    From childhood she always loved to be in nature and studied natural healthcare
    In combination with her intuïtive skills she can 'read' people ( fysionomics and typology) and heal/rebalance them with foods, herbs and lifestyle changes
    Her sense for esthetics is shown in the garden and the design of the buildings on the quinta
    She organizes workshops about natural healthcare, bio-energetic & vegan cooking and how to design and make your own clothing

    We are a 1 km walk from the village Cerdeira with a café with wi-fi and small supermarket
    It's a 6 km drive to Côja, a small town with shops, library, restaurants, saturday market and cafés with outside sitting areas
    Coïmbra, university city and former capital of Portugal, is 70 km by bus
    Porto and Lisbon, but allso the coast of the Atlantic ocean with lots of beaches are only about 2 hours by car and a bit longer with public transport

    We have two big dogs that we adopted from Romania
    They are kind of wild and need some time to get used to you
    After that, they will get very friendly

    We offer accomodation for two volunteers
    We don't have internet connection so if you reallyy would like to use it be sure you buy data on your simcard
    You can bring your own small camper van or your own tent or stay in one of our spacious tents with decent beds
    We provide all ingredients for the meals and prepair them together or on turns
    We have a communal building with fully equiped outside kitchen, outside seating area with fireplace and a bathroom with toilet and hot shower
    There allso is a living room with woodburner available, where we live at the moment, in case the weather gets cold or wet
    We ask you to take your own solarshowerbag
    To encourage this ecologic way of heating water we ask €1 for a gas heated hot shower
    We only allow natural soaps etc
    Please allso bring a sleeping bag working shoes with good profile, a (rain) coat, clothing to work in, a headlight, sunglasses, sunscreen, swimgear, instruments to play next to the campfire and most of all your enthusiasm and possitive attitude and we will a have great time together !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can experience pure rural mountain lifestyle
    There are many old slate villages ( UNESCO Heritage) with local knowledge and habits
    Learn about the ecological, selfsustainable off-grid community
    Lots off workshops to attend about permaculture, natural building, herbs, wild food, soapmaking etc
    You could learn to speak Portuguese but note that the people speak a dialect here
    We are still learning it ourselves..

  • Help


    Some experience with gardening, construction/building, and vegetarian/vegan cooking would be great but isn't necessary
    For more information about the help needed, please have a look at the general description
    We only expect that you do your best to help us and enjoy your stay in nature

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    We offer accomodation for 2 in a bedded spacious tent
    There 's lots of space to camp on our beautiful terraced land
    Vegetarian/vegan food for all meals will be provided and prepaired together/ on turns
    The communal building has a bathroom with toilet and hot shower, outside kitchen and seating area
    Your own solarshower is more than welcome as we would like to live off fris as much as possible

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are not strict with the 25 hours a week work policy
    Especially when the weather is hot or rainy we are not working 4-5 hours a day
    So there will be lots of time off and things to do, alone or together
    Public transport is only available by schoolbus ( out early morning/ back in the afternoon ) but you could hitch-hike to Côja, Arganil or Catraia de Moronho ( the last two have a bus station)
    We go to town on a regular basis From there you can take a bus out
    We can pick you up or drop you off in Catraia do Moronho busstation when you pay for the petrol costs
    There the Rede Expressos busses stop from/to Porto, Lisbon and other cities

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space for one small to medium campervan

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have no fencing so only boring pets that don't run away

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 247689842933