Enjoy a hobby farm stay with our family in Sooke, on the beautiful West Coast of Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 6, 4 Children ages 7-15, we enjoy Soccer, camping, swimming, skiing, and many other activities. Mother works part time and Father Full time. Grandfather lives with us as well and we do have an exchange student at times during the school year. We are looking for someone to help out on our hobby farm during the week, learn English. Would suit an independent hard workawayer to help with the daily chores 4-5 days a week and other projects on the growing farm. We have a small flock of sheep, a stable with riding ponies and chickens for eggs.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can offer cultural exchange experience on a farm, with animals as well as English language skills and the ability to explore Vancouver Island the beautiful West Coast of Canada.

  • Help

    Help

    Daily chores on our hobby farm include collecting eggs, feeding and bedding sheep in for night also cleaning mucking out stable would be much appreciated. We would be open to someone who is interested and/or has an equestrian background or just simply wants to learn to ride horses! Our home is busy with Children so you must be easy going, active and love children and animals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom in shared ground level suite, responsible for most of your own meals, some food provided. Beautiful Farmhouse on 10 acres of land close to the village, river, trails and beaches.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is located in Sooke BC (Victoria side of Sooke) close to many trails, beaches, river, port renfrew and the Westcoast Trail as well as many other natural wonders found on the west coast of British Columbia, Canada

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 246785817771