Help build a self-sufficient place using ecological methods and materials in Chélan, France

Country

France

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are 2 couples : Maëlle and Jérôme are living in a caravan, Lisa and Thomas in a yurt in the garden. Our project is to build a self-sufficient place, and to host old people who need assistance. We are restoring an old farm with ecological methods and materials. When we bought the farm in 2014, it was uninhabitable. Before leaving our life in Paris, we spent a few summers working on it (mostly to build back the roof and one living room) and we now moved in end of 2018. Until today, we have had mainly friends helping, which learned us a lot on how to work and live in group. We now want to share this adventure with as many people as possible !!
    We also started a vegetable garden last year and just installed 6 beehives on the land !
    We have 2 dogs (females) and 5 chickens.

    Nous sommes 2 couples sur un grand terrain avec un corps de ferme : Maëlle et Jérôme vivent dans une roulotte, Lisa et Thomas dans une yourte. Le projet en quelques mots : cultiver des légumes et des fruits, accueillir des woofers pour transmettre des techniques de maraîchage (agroforesterie, permaculture, maraîchage sur sol vivant...) et d'éco-construction, loger des personnes âgées qui ont besoin d'assistance et de compagnie.
    Petit à petit, on restaure le corps de ferme avec des techniques et des matériaux écologiques. On a acheté le terrain en 2014, on y habite depuis 2018. On fait régulièrement des chantiers participatifs, majoritairement avec des copains mais on aime aussi beaucoup accueillir des petits nouveaux !!
    Depuis l'année dernière, on cultive un potager d'environ 400 m2. Côté faune, on vit avec 2 chiennes, 4 poules et un coq... et des abeilles !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Since we live in a small village, we are surrounded by a strong southern-french rural atmosphere. We collaborate with many local actors and participate to many cultural activities in villages nearby. We'll be more than happy to share all this with you and also learn from you !

  • Help

    Help

    Nous organisons un chantier du 18 mai au 30 mai :
    - détruire une cloison et la reconstruire en terre-paille*
    - plantations au potager et entretien des zones de culture
    - construction d'un four à pain en terre crue (semaine 2)

    We organize a workshop, from mai 18th to mai 30th :
    - Destruction and rebuilding a wall , still with straw and clay *
    - Planting and maintenance of our vegetable garden
    - building a bread oven with clay (2nd week)

    We'll be from 10 to 12 people.
    Looking forward to meet you !

    *Last summer, we rebuilded two bedrooms with half-timbering using soil-straw mixture. The text below was our workshop description :

    The present halftimbering (see pictures) is 150 years old and is abandoned since 50 years. In order to restore this structure in an ecologic way and to end up with a passive house, we choosed a soil-earth solution. 
    This solution will fit in easyly in the existing structure, plus it has good phonic and heating capacities. All materials used here are local, the technics requieres very low energy, which makes it a low footprint solution !

    The project we have here will concerns only 2 rooms on the first floor.
    The thecnic is based on a mixture of soil and straw. We will first use ciment mixer to have a nice clay/water mixture, and then add it to straw in big bathtups.
    We will lift up all this mixture thanks to buckets and pullies.
    Then we will fill up the formworks with big wooden hammers.
    We will move on progresivly on the 4 different walls, starting from the bottom and going up 40 cm by 40 cm.

    There are three different teams all along the process, first one on the mixture, second one getting it up, the third one filling the formworks.
    For those who want to discover all the process, everyone will be able to change team every half day as all the technics are simple and easily handled by all. Also, Thomas, Lisa, Jerome and Maelle will be involved in all teams to help and take time with each one of you.

    We will be very happy to share these moments with you !

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For sleeping, we offer different solutions depending on how many we are. We have a bed in the farm, a van in the garden, and tents with mattress.
    We all share meals in a common kitchen and turn teams every day for cooking.
    We have a shower, and composting toilets.

    Pour le couchage, plusieurs possibilités : un lit dans le studio, un camion dans le jardin, une tente avec matelas.
    On partage tous les repas ensemble dans une cuisine commune, et on se répartit les tâches domestiques en essayant de tourner.
    On a plusieurs toilettes sèches, et deux espaces pour se doucher.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Animals are welcome, please let us know before.
    We can accomodate you by picking you up in the nearest train stations (Lannemezan, Auch).

    Animaux bienvenus, merci de nous prévenir à l'avance.
    Nous pouvons venir vous chercher à une gare : Auch ou Lannemezan

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 hours a day, 5 days in the week.

Host ref number: 245919643278