Help with childminding and some indoor and outdoor projects in the Garfagnana region of Tuscany, Italy

  • Favourited 9 times
  • Last activity: 23 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Date for hosting: 15-26 July 2024 (can be slightly flexible)

    We are a family of 4 (2 young daughters aged 4 and 6) who have bought a house in the Garfagnana region of Tuscany. We speak English, and are slowly learning Italian, although the younger one understands Italian.

    The house, and land, is situated on the side of a valley with beautiful views, quiet and immersed in nature. The chestnut forest houses wild boar, deer and lots of other animals.

    Although the house is in a quiet location, it is 15 min drive to the local town, 20 min walk down a track to the train station (if you don't have a car), a lovely restaurant and river to swim in.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be able to improve your English with us whilst living in beautiful Tuscany.

    There is plenty of space outside, the land being made up of unused grape vines and chestnut forests - some lovely walks and mountain biking straight from our door.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The tasks are endless and varied – indoor (for during the heat of the day) such as varnishing, painting, DIY and outdoor such as strimming, clearing vegetation, fencing… We also have 2 daughters (4 and 6) who will need “occupying” at times during the day so child care would also be very much appreciated so we can get on with our jobs! There is so much to be done / could be done that we can fit in with your skills and interests: projects and smaller tasks. Sorry, but Non-smokers.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self contained apartment with small kitchenette and bathroom.

    Breakfast and lunch will be self service / make your own sandwich, cereal, coffee etc. Dinner will be on a rotation, so we would ask you to cook 2 dinner meals throughout the week for the whole family 6-8 people plus yourselves. We will provide 4 dinners, and the last will be up to you: meal out etc.
    There is no internet, so you will need to have it on your phone.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is a beautiful natural area so would suit people happy to live in this environment. Lots of walking, wild swimming (although there is a small temporary meter deep pool on the land). Trains go down to Lucca and beyond for day trips to Florence, the beach etc. We have bikes you can borrow.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Campervans are fine - plenty of space. However, there are no electricity hookups or waste disposal but you can use the bathroom in the house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 244858765917

Photos

Feedback

Help me with projects and enjoy a secluded mountain paradise in Sassaia, Italy
Experience the authentic Italian lifestyle at a farmhouse stay in Reggio Emilia, Italy