Share our life and learn about organic sustainable living in Czech Republic

Country

Czech Republic

updated  

Favourited 442 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    50  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    166

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small educational farm, producing for ourselves as well as for courses. Teaching students where food comes from, and how it gets to the table, everything from milking goats, cheese making, baking bread to forging for edible plants. Our farm has been in the family for four generations. We are always building renewing, regenerating and of course growing. We are working on 5 hectares of land. Producing our own milk, meat, eggs, fruit, vegetables and tea. All organic :). We have three children (6, 4 and baby) and have a beautiful piece of property surrounded by forrest and meadows. Only 1 hour south of Prague which can be easily reached by public transportation.

    Animals on the farm: Pony, Donkey, Goats, Sheep, Hens, Dogs, and Cats.

    We have a relaxed placed and environment but we are hard working. My husband still has a full time job (mon-Fri) so we are mainly working and tackling big projects in the evenings or on the weekends. We are happy to have volunteers work with us, but because of our busy lives we aren't always able to work one on one with our volunteers. We need people who are happy to work indpendently on a task.

    Please also note here that we are a non smoking household. We have people in our household who are allergic to cigarette smoke. Sadly if you are a smoker we can't accept you. Also we aren't able to accept you if you are interested in travelling with a dog. We have three here already and in our experience it hasn't worked out well in the past.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to share our life and teach about organic sustainable living. Share information about Czech culture and language. Show you where you can find some of the treasures located in the Czech Republic.

    Other skills you could learn from staying here:
    -knitting
    -sewing
    - needle felting
    - wood working
    - how to process an animal- from field to fridge

  • Help

    Help

    October 2019- Feb 2020:
    - preparing the farm for winter
    - bringing in firewood daily
    -Daily care of animals
    -Help in the house cooking and cleaning
    - starting painting projects- weather dependent
    - pruning apple trees.
    - raking leaves
    - processing walnuts
    - childcare
    - dog walking
    - horse training.. if you are skilled with horses



    We are happy to work with our volunteers in finding a balance in what needs to be done, and what skills and interests the volunteers bring. A creative mural is always welcomed, as well as attractive signs.

    Our ideal volunteer:
    - someone who at least shares a small interest in our way of life
    - is interested and enjoys working outside and is respectful to animals
    - is self motivated and is able to work independently on tasks,
    - is social and is able to work well with others,
    - is able to communicate with others and express needs or problems.
    - has a positive attitude
    - is able to live in a group environment with other adults and children.

    If this sounds like you, and you would like to be a part of our farm, please contact us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Czech, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In exchange for your work and keen attitude, we offer all food and accommodation and will treat you as a family member.

    Food:
    Our kitchen is yours to use, and is always stocked with food.
    We eat our own meat and eggs,- fruits and vegatables during the summer months. We try to eat from the farm as much as possible. But of course during the winter months we must go to a store.
    We are meat eaters and eat a local diet, we have no problem adapting to a vegetarian diet, but through experience a vegan diet is stressful for us. I spend so much and energy trying to figure out what to cook. So unless you are willing to cook all meals for 10- then it's best you choose another placement.

    Also one note for food: If you have any individual dietary needs, such as lactose free, or gluten free or prefer one of these diets- you will need to purchase these food products on your own ex. soya products, tofu, almond milk, ex.... We have fresh goat and buffalo milk here unlimited quantity. Please also alert us to any allergies.

    During the week- Monday- Friday. Breakfast and Lunch are self-serve. Hot dinner together.
    During the weekends- At least two hot meals together each day.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ We try rotate the responsibilties of cooking amoung all those in the house who are interested in cooking :). We enjoy eating dishes from around the world. Those who aren't cooking can assist with the clean up.

    Accommodation:
    When staying with us we provide all sheets, blankets, pillows and towels.

    Types of accommodation:
    2- Private rooms in house,
    train trailer - max 2.
    Seperate house-
    If you have read it this far, please use "I like goats" as your subject line to let us know you have read everything and that you are serious about working with us :).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Chraštice
    20

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)



































Host ref number: 243766813511