Come and be part of a family of three generations living on 20 acres in Norfolk, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 63 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 3 generations living on 20 acres in Norfolk, UK. We have a smallholding with vegetable growing, an orchard and chickens and geese, a woodland and wildlife meadow that we manage. We have 2 young children that we home educate and live on the site with my parents. We live with environmental sustainability at our core and we love connecting people with nature and live seasonally.

    We run a small glampsite with 2 yurts and we are currently building a straw bale roundhouse made of a variety of natural materials. This is a great project to get involved in as natural building is really accessible and a fun experience.

    We moved here 5 years ago (we we're previously in London living the rat race & my parents were on a smallholding in devon). We've been setting up infrastructure over this time, beginning by starting the glampsite with a shipping container conversion and adding yurts to the site, creating an orchard, learning coppicing and land management and now building our roundhouse. It's been a steep learning curve and a big change from our London life (Seb was a secondary school music teacher and Kate was a sustainability consultant) and we are living every minute and look forward to having the opportunity to share our Norfolk smallholding life with you.

    We've had some amazing Workaway hosting experiences in recent months having help with our natural building project as well as land management and food growing. In addition we had a wonderful Italian girl become part of our family for a month 2 years in a row helping out with our business and family life. We love welcoming new people into our home and life and are especially keen on people who enjoy being around young children and working outdoors and who are respectful of a multi generational family set up.

    We'd like volunteers to be able to stay for at least a couple of days with 2 weeks as the maximum. We've put no minimum down as the length of stay as this was the most appropriate option.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would welcome you into our family, with a range of ages there are lots of opportunities to become immersed in British family life. There are lots of opportunities to speak English, eat English food and get to know the Norfolk countryside and our culture. We've got lots of wildlife that live on our site and are enthusiastic about sharing our growing knowledge about local wildlife and plants, we're especially keen foragers in the spring.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love help with our straw bale roundhouse build and getting our site ready to reopen our glampsite for the coming season. In March we'll be putting our yurts up, tidying up fallen trees from recent strong winds, applying the finishing coat of clay plaster to our natural build roundhouse, planting in the veg garden, and doing other land management. It'll be really varied work and great experience for anyone interested in gaining skills for living on the land or land management. Later in the spring we'll be painting the roundhouse with natural paint, building furniture and laying a quirky floor and refitting the inside in our retro campervan and would love help and to share our experience with all of this. We also have chickens to care for, beehives and a vegetable garden and orchard that we would love help with for a bit of variety. We run a glampsite on our land with 2 yurts. There's always something going on here! There are no specific skills required, being a quick learner and being keen to have a go, not scared of outside work in all weathers is pretty essential as most tasks here are outdoors. Having a good knowledge of English is also important with the spring work as it will help us to clearly communicate any instructions.
    We have 2 children who we home educate so being happy around children would be great and being happy to help out with them sometimes would be wonderful but we're not looking for full time childcare, more someone to get involved in the projects we have going on and help on the glampsite.
    Because we have young children we are looking for Workaway volunteers with at least one review.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, nearby family members speak French, Italian, German & Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare double bedroom with a sink in it and a spacious bathroom very close. We will make sure you are warm and comfortable. We can host individuals, couples or people happy to share a room with a double bed and single futon.
    Food is home cooked meals that a healthy British family enjoys. We can easily cater for vegetarian, gluten and dairy free and eat a lot of fresh vegetables mostly organic, and organically grown by ourselves where possible and the season allows. You'll have the chance to taste British foods and we also eat a variety of different cuisines.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're based in the countryside in Norfolk. There is a bus with access to the lovely city of Norwich, local walks and lots of lovely places to explore. We have a car so can often include you in our family days out if you're traveling alone or drop you off at local places or at public transport. My dad often goes beach fishing at night or early morning so if you're keen on having a go this might be possible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The strawbale roundhouse with the outside almost completed
Our meadow
A beautiful Norfolk beach
Kate, Seb & Elliot
Seb & Kate building the roundhouse
Elliot and Dylan
Inside the roundhouse
Seb and our boys enjoying a campfire
Strawbale roundhouse build

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 243429853577