Join a traditional Chinese family and learn our language and culture with some help with our son in Canton City, China.

Country

China

Favourited 140 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/01/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    65

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a tranditional Cantonese family living in Canton city. We have more than one year of studying and traveling experience in Finland. We have ever trans-siberian twice when I persued my second master degree in Finland. I am an IT engineer and wife is a civil engineer working as consultant now, we have a boy who can speak a bit English as a beginner and a baby girl who is learning speaking. In my spare time, I also do some studies on tranditional Chinese medcine and I have a senior certificate on tranditional Chinese medicine massage. We would like to make friends globally. I think we could offer you pretty nice experiences of living in Canton province.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn some cantonese/ Haka language, know more about daily life in a cantonse family, taste cantonse/haka cusine, share with the experience of travelling to Finland and Estonia, transiberian, Russia. We will show you the specific typical cantonese architecture, how to programe and make electronic gadget etc.


    Key words: Guide to the local attractions, to learn language, shared travel experience, know more friends, local food, know about local lifestyle and culture, tranditional Chinese medcine, to gain some experiences in teaching language and engineering.

  • Help

    Help

    I hope that you could teach my son on piano or painting and English. He is a beginner in English and spent almost one year in Finland and would like to make progress in English. We also hope that you could teach my son to draw, decorate and make some crafts which are his interests . And he attends painting courses in his spare time after class. Also he is taking piano courses and practising piano at the weekends. Now his interest focus on piano, so, teaching piano would be advantage. Teaching him playing piano is the main purpose for us to invite the guests to visit us.


    If it is possible, we are looking for suitable long term partner for sort of English language center. But maybe it is too far to say this. In addition, If you are a computer/electrical/architecture student or engineer, you could also have the chance to join some useful projects related to your major for your sake of adding to your experience/skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Cantonese, English, French(Beginner), Finnish (Basic words)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are living in a dependent house with 5 floors. My parents have one floor, my sisiter's family has one floor. We have diners toghers.

    The guests are able to have one whole floor with double bedrooms, toilet and bathroom. Though one room has air conditioner, so in the summber when the weather is hot, only one bedroom is available. There are two kitchens in our house which you could use either one of them.

    The house is around 5-minute walk away from a subway station of GF line of Canton city. We also own a house where four rooms are available for the guests. in the countryside in Shaoguang country side.

    Our home locates in outskirt of Canton city. Guests who like night life are not suitable to stay here since after 11 o'clock at night, there will be no metro service and it costs your much money to take the taxi. Guests who are from small city may also find that it will be a bit far from the downtown. By subway, it will take you around 40 minutes to Pearl river New town, 35 minutes to Gong Yuan qian and 25 minutes to Shamian. Nearest super market would be in 15 minutes. FYI.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We could show you around canton city by metro or our car at the weekends. Our house locates nearby a metro station with 3-5 minute walk. We could also show you the countryside life in Canton province area(Shaogwang) at the public holidays when we go there for vocation. We also have a house there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week










Host ref number: 237283322115