Looking for loving people, helping us with babysitting, constructing, furniture and art worK, Pireaus, Greece

Country

Greece

Favourited 131 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 20 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey dear Workawayers,

    we are looking for loving people, helping us with mainly with constructing, furnituring and art work and maybe sometimes babysitting. We are a little international Family (Helias, 28Y, Johanna 25 Y. and Leonora, 1,5Y.) from Germany/Netherlands/Switzerland, who just moved to Pireaus - The Harbour of Athens in Greece. We have a house with a view to the see, with a huge Garage, three levels and a wonderful rooftop. Our final Goal is to set up an international shared flat community in this house. For this purpose we started to renovate the house, so that it fits better our idea of a shared living house: We set up a wood workshop in the Garage, started to built walls and tear down others, furnitured already some of the rooms and planning to create a roof garden. Besides we host Travelers and organize some international Dinners. In our freetime we learn Greek, play and listen to a lot of music, go out for dancing (mostly techno) or visit Artevents. We watch a lot of movies through Mubi on our Projector with friends, but also love to have some private time reading or going to sleep early. The speciallity about us and our project maybe is, that its kind of a hybrid: We are queer, but at the same hand also a quite stereotype small family. We are kind of hip and arty, but at the same time located in a very cosy middle-class area. etc. etc. So far most people, who really enjoyed this hybrid living with us, were people, who were staying in the moment and leaving their expecations and alltime search for something better for a moment aside. But we are also open for others :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    People visiting us are very often surprised about our way of being a family and the way we treat Leonora: We always used to live in a shared flat, having international people around and trying to keep our own life although we are a family by now. Maybe it would be new to you, to see how easygoing we treat Leonora, maybe its interesting for you to be part of our quite liberal family for a while.

    We already have some expereince with renovating and building projects. Especially Helias can teach you how to treat the different Machines and Techniques you need for this types of work, since Helias used to work as a carpenter for a while.

    Johanna is still studying Philosophy besides this Living Project - with her you could broaden your horizont of intellectual ideas about Love, Politics, Art, Language, Feminism. In the Conversations with Helias you can learn about insect farming, hemp production as a sustainable resource for different stuff and Permaculture. Also we have three flatmates from Germany, France and Belgium, in the field of Arts. With them you could try to have a view on world which is upside down or shown in narratives.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help for different things so far:

    1. We are looking for help doing the CONSTRUCTING AND FURNITURING WORK: We always set up little projects, like building one specific wall, furnituring one specific room, built a new bed, painting the balcony fences, setting up our van. We would love to have you with us for the one or the other. We are also open for doing the one or the other thing artistically, if you have any beautiful idea.

    2. You could also join for COMMUNITY WORK: Inviting for Dinners, Going out with visitors etc. definitely is work aswell, which needs to be done - So if you are in for cooking and preparing a nice gathering, we could also have some fun together.

    3. Sometimes it might be, that we also could need help with BABYSITTING, but since we have a regulary babysitter by now, its not for sure.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, Dutch, Spanish, (Greek)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our House is located a three minute walk from a little fishermens harbour. Its a quite cosy area, with different Generations living here together, of whom quite a few recognize eachother on the street. There are lots of Fishrestaurants, Curches, Playgrounds and some Cafes around. We have a weekly market taking place a one minute walk from our house. To the citycentre of Athens it takes you about 40-50 Minutes. There are buses going (040, 049) 24h directly to the city centre. And at daytimes there is also a Metro (M3 - Green Line) going.

    You will have flatmates - Helias, Johanna, Leonora, An, Dune, Ingmar and sometimes Daniela and Wolf. Daniela and Wolf are Johannas Parents, who are living most of the Year in an international shared living Project themselves back in Hamburg/Germany and who are financing this Project in Pireaus. Daniela and Wolf are not here all time, but around third of the year. We have Guests around, but we make sure that you will have your private room for the time you visit us. We have regulary Dinner together every night and ACs in all living rooms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would be very happy to have your help around 3-5 hours per Day. But these hours dont need to be done every day (expect the Babysitting - but they are free at weekends), It also is possible to work one day/two days/three days 6-8 hours and take a day/two days/three days off afterwards/before. We have the experience that it is way much more convenient to have full days of, since it takes a while to get to the city centre from our place. We are quite flexible with everything - lets talk about, what is best for all of us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 236526857146