Join my family and help with some projects including building a glass house in Armidale, NSW, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! I am based just outside of Armidale in NSW. We live out of town and always have a few projects on the go! Currently it is just 3 of us, my self (Freyja, 25) and my parents (Janien and Warren). We are always looking to meet new people and share experiences, even (or especially!) in these crazy times.

    We have a few animals, so lots of doggo cuddles, fresh eggs and affection starved horses (not really but they would like to make you think that!). We have an elusive cat or 2 so let us know if you have any allergies.

    I absolutely love playing cards, so bonus if you are keen to play or teach some games 😀 We also have a large collection of instruments and love listening or learning new tunes.

    Feel free to get in contact if you have any questions!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is lots of space (and time) to relax, reguevenate or adventure! Our property backs on to a nature reserve, with several gorges and waterfalls within a short driving distance.

    My mum is currently learning Chinese and would love to impart some of her newly acquired skills for a chance to practice!

    I am always happy to take people horse riding or get involved in a good crafty project 👌

    There is always wild life around, with several native ducks living on one of our dams, along with a huge variety of bird life and lots of Kangaroos. It is a true bush experience, right down to cooking over a fire (No seriously, we use a wood fired stove) 😊

    We live a low energy use lifestyle including a solar passive house, solar hot water with wood stove back up, solar PV and battery. We have also been experimenting with solar cooking, using much of our own garden produce.

  • Help

    Help

    We always have a few projects on the go, with a glasshouse being next, still in the planning stages! We have several large gardens that always need some love and attention, as well as various chores around the farm. We are always open to any ideas of projects you have in mind and would love any contributions to our home.

    We have several fences under construstion and several in need of maintence, as well as a continuous cycle of wood collection for our fires.

    My current pet project is converting my van, so all ideas welcome there as well!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Chinese (Mandarin): Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have several rooms available, or if you are super keen we have a full sized teepee you could set up in! All rooms would be private, and okay for a single or a couple. We would be happy to feed you and would love you to join us for dinner with a help youself view on any other meals 🍽

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to see in the local area with some really amazing waterfalls and good hiking tracks around. We are about 10 minute drive from town, and it is possible to bike or walk if you wanted. Half the household is currently studying at university, so mornings are usually taken up with this! Ideally you would need to be able to enterain yourself for several hours a day. We are a very easy going family who loves a good discussion about anything and everything. We have all spent a fair amount of time travelling, so we know how important having time to unwind is, as well as a chance to get acquainted with locals and feel at home.

    Armidale is a rather cold place so it is best to be preparded for the cold.

    More than happy to pick you up from town and take you on some adventures if you do not have your own transport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have lots of space and a few completely private options if you want to feel secluded under the stars 👌

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    Any pets! Although we do have a dog, a cat, chickens and horses so they must get along with other critters.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 236372222142