We are a couple living in a log cabin built in the 1850's looking for someone to help us with our spring gardening and more! Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/09/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple living in a log cabin built in the 1850's. It is in 17 acres of forest and with a salt water pool. The house has been featured in a number of magazines. We are looking for someone to help us with our spring Gardening, Tree planting, Landscaping with stones, painting and other chores around the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The travellers will benefit from learning Canadian history, and working with native Canadian plants and how they are used to dye naturally sourced fibre. Travellers can improve on their English speaking skills or learn English if FRENCH is their first language. Will show travellers points of historical & cultural significance as well as the natural beauty of the Bay of Quinte and Prince Edward County with day trips and on occasion to other points of interest.

  • Help

    Help

    We are building a number of flower beds. The help will require clearing, preparing and planting flower beds. The plants will be used for dying yarn. Building a fence around garden. Digging to remove stumps and trees, to pruning and moving several trees. Moving rocks for building a stone walkway & steps. Painting small projects inside house and pool-house.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The workawayers will have his/her own room with a shared bathroom. He/she will have access to all facilities in the cabin including WIFI, TV, the salt water pool, bicycles, hiking trails. Meals will be prepared three times per day. Most meals will be prepared by the host and freedom to cook for yourselves.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in the Oak Hill just north of the city of Belleville and Prince Edward County. The County is known for its Wineries & Vineyards, Micro-Breweries, restaurants & cafes, art galleries and outdoor cycling & waterfront trails. Also close to world renowned Sandbanks Provincial Park with miles of beaches and spectacular sand dunes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 235718226764