Join us on our hobby farm with Icelandic horses in Pedersöre, Finland

Country

Finland

updated  

Favourited 86 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a hobby farm in Finland with many pets: a herd of Icelandic horses, 3 goats, a minipig, chickens, 4 dogs, 6 cats, hamsters, 2 geckos and an axolotl. We are a family of 5, the "kids" aged 12, 14, 18 and 22. We are originally from Austria but have been living in Finland since 15 years. The mom is a veterinarian (that's also why we have 6 cats, they are all rescues). We are a very chill, humorous and a bit crazy family in a chaotic household. We like to spend our free time with the animals and play board games.

    Workawayers here should be flexible, show initiative, and love spending time with pets and being outside with the horses. We would like a good cook to make family meals, and preferably someone who can ride horses.
    We are a non-smoking household.

    We don't have a business and the help needed would vary from day to day, the hours are flexible and taking time off to do trips wouldn't be a problem.

    We live in a big old house (140 years old) in the countryside surrounded by woods and fields. On our rides we cross a river. There is a lake 14 kilometers away that we sometimes visit in the summer to go for a swim. The ocean is also a 40 minute drive away.

    We speak german, finnish, swedish, english and the mom also knows how to speak french, icelandic and some spanish.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experienced horse riders with no fear of energetic horses can join us for rides in the beautiful countryside. You can explore the woods and nature. We can teach you a little Finnish or Swedish if interested. You can meet local people and experience Finland from a local standpoint.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We welcome help with cleaning the house and the garden, cooking family meals, feeding the animals, in the summer help with fixing fences or doing other outside projects. The dogs (and also the goats!) would love to go on long walks. Experienced horse people could train our horses from the ground, teach them tricks and join us for rides.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a guestroom upstairs workawayers could use. The bathroom and other rooms are shared and you would be living like part of the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a small town 30 kilometers away, it's possible to take a bus there and back. We can do a little sightseeing together, and you can meet local people. If you want to go somewhere further away there is a train station we can drive you to.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 234781131969